July 1, 2017 2 Chronicles 6,7; Psalm 135; 1 Thessalonians 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

You are trustworthy | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ At times I might shut up the heavens so that no rain falls, or I might command locusts to devour your crops, or I might send plagues among you.  2 Chronicles 7:13 (NLT)

The Lord does whatever pleases him throughout all heaven and earth and on the seas and in their depths.  Psalms 135:6 (NLT)

O~  God can do these things, shut up the heavens, command locusts to devour our crops, or send plagues among us. He can do whatever he pleases.

A~  My first reaction to these verses were fear, anger, protect myself from you. I know these come from my past. Trusting is a HUGE struggle for me. But I’m learning I can count on you, because you are trustworthy.  Your word reminds me of how good you are and how precious I am to you:

You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.  You saw me before I was born.  Everyday of my life was recorded in your book.  Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. How precious are your thoughts about me, O God! They are innumerable!  I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand!  Psalms 139:15-17 (who else thinks of me this much! <3)

God shows his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners. Romans 5:8

P~  Dear God, thank you. You are a good and Holy, loving God. You want my best. I can trust you when my circumstances are shouting that I shouldn’t.  You are my rock of safety where I am always welcome. Thank you for walking in life with me and wanting what’s best for me. Help me to hear you clearly and understand clearly what you want for my life. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Precious Promise! | Kim Chipman

S~ if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land. 2 Chronicles 7:14 (NIV)

O~ This is a precious promise!

A~ We all blow it. I know I certainly do. I probably mess up more than I get it right. This sweet promise is comforting to my heart. If I repent and humbly return to You then You promise to take me back and heal me.

P~ Oh, thank you Jesus! I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 1, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

