March 27, 2017 Deuteronomy 4,5; Psalm 43; Acts 24

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

“My Way” to “Your Way” | Deanna George

S~ Do not add to what I command you and do not subtract from it, but keep the commands of the Lord your God that I give you. Deuteronomy 4:2 (NIV)

O~ God knows exactly the how, when, where, and he has given us those commands in the Bible. When we add our own ideas to his plan, we are making it more difficult for ourselves and God. When we take things away from a command, we are saying we know better than God. Stop interfering and be obedient.

A~ I need to stop over thinking God’s commands for my life. I do not know what is better, what is right, or what the future holds. I do know that God does, and he has already provided me with the blueprint of how to follow and trust him. God’s commands are for my good, so I need to be obedient and follow them.

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for the reminder that you know what is best for me. Sometimes I can get fixated on what I think is best, which is far from the truth. I am releasing my stronghold on “my way” so that I can allow “your way” to prevail. Thank you for loving me even when I try to intervene in your plan for me. Please help me to remember and follow your commands.

Sharing Memories with Our Kids | Joni Tyner

S~ But watch out! Be careful never to forget what you yourselves have seen. Do not let these memories escape from your mind as long as you live!  And be sure to pass them on to your children and grandchildren. Deuteronomy 4:9 (NLT)

O~ Moses is reminding the people to remember the miracles they had seen—God’s faithfulness to them while they wandered in the desert.

A~ Our kids came over to the house last Saturday for a birthday dinner for my husband.  We enjoyed a nice meal and the kids started bringing up old memories, “remember when…” Soon, my  daughter suggested we get out some old family videos and watch them as a family.  I had forgotten so many things.  Their sense of humor, their interests, things we did as a family.  As I went to bed that night, I really tried to recall many of the good times we had as a family.  It was hard because I often felt completely consumed by  the here and now, …and the future.  This verse reminded me to continue to point out examples of God’s faithfulness  in our past and how we can rely on Him in the future.  I think I often think about it, but I’m not sure how often I have conversations like this with our kids.  Note to self…bring up past examples of God’s faithfulness to our kids!!!

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for my family and the memories we have. Thank you for opportunity to have everyone around the dinner table this past week—it makes my mama’s heart happy!!  Please continue to nudge my heart to talk to the kids about Your goodness and faithfulness and how our hope is always, always in You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 27, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

