March 26, 2017 Deuteronomy 3; Psalm 36; Acts 23

We have a new reading plan for 2017!! Get the printable: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

In his own eyes… | Kelley Deases

S~ For in his own eyes he flatters himself too much to detect or hate his own sin. Psalm 36:2 (NIV)

O~ In his psalms, David constantly refers to “the wicked” and “the righteous.” While this makes for dramatic poetry and we are meant to imagine those who follow God versus those who oppose Him, we know we are all made in the image of God and need only believe on the name of Jesus Christ to be covered by His righteousness. Conversely, all of us have sinned and fall pitifully short. Not are righteous; not even one.

A~ As I read this verse, I am reminded of a conversation my husband shared with me which he had had with a coworker at the jail. This coworker reasoned he was “good” and didn’t really need saving. After all, to his mind, the jail is chock full of criminals and “sinners” and he himself is a faithful husband, a good dad, a careful driver, a responsible employee, and a good a citizen. The picture of righteousness, right? (“No!” my husband wanted to scream but did not.) In my pride, I have thought some of those same thoughts before. but then I open God’s Word and I discover (and rediscover and rediscover) the holiness and righteousness of God and, in contrast, my own frailty, weakness, and rebellion. My thoughts are impure, my words are often unkind, I am selfish and self-centered, and on and on. I am no different than the men and women who spent last night (or the last decade) in jail … and neither is my husband’s coworker, if he was able to take an honest assessment of his life in relation to His Maker and Almighty God.

P~ Father, Help this man come to a realization of just how perfect You are and just how imperfect he is by contrast. Not so he can loathe himself, but so he can grasp his true need for a Savior. Thank You, as ever, for the gift of Your Word, which offers a right perspective and details Your amazing plan for our redemption.

Yield to Holy Spirit | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Sin whispers to the wicked, deep within their hearts. They have no fear of God to restrain them.

In their blind conceit, they cannot see how wicked they really are.

Everything they say is crooked and deceitful.  They refuse to act wisely or do what is good.  Psalm 36:1-3 (NLT)

O~ Without the fear of God, I am left to my own ways thoughts, and plans…and I won’t even realize the wrong I am doing.  This was me, before Holy Spirit came to live in me, this is still me when I don’t tune myself to listen and yield to him.

A~ I will listen to Holy Spirit and yield to his guidance in my life.

P~ Father, thank you for making me.  Thank you for sending Jesus and your Holy Spirit to guide me.  Thank you for pursuing me when I am walking without you. Help me as I tune into Holy Spirit’s voice and guidance. Help me not be deceived.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 26, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

