November 28 Matthew 28; 1 Thessalonians 1,2,3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Doubt…Trust! | Kim Chipman

S~ When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. Matthew 28:17 (NIV)

O~ Jesus was crucified, died, was buried, and rose again! Hallelujah! Here He appears to His 11 disciples after His resurrection.

A~ This gives me such hope (strangely)! Even the 11, those closest to Jesus on earth, even some of THEM doubted. I certainly don’t see this as license to stop pursuing deep faith and trust, but it definitely helps me not feel so abnormal for grappling with things sometimes.

P~ Lord, I believe, but help my unbelief! Help me to grow deep in trust. I love You!

Disciples | Nikki Metzger

S~ Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. Matthew 28:19 (NIV)

O~ These are the last words that Jesus says to His disciples.  This is known as the Great Commission.  The Great Commission is for all believers, including me!!

A~ A disciple is one who accepts and assists in spreading the doctrines of another, according to Webster.  As a disciple of Christ, I accept and assist Him in spreading the Good News to all.  I think this also means I need to help ‘grow up’ those new believers.

I don’t think there is a short cut to making disciples.  It takes time and energy.  Using Jesus as my model: He didn’t make disciples of everyone, He picked 12 and poured into them.

P~ Father, as I look at the people in my life, I don’t know if I’m ‘growing’ others up who will be pouring into others.  But maybe that’s Your job?  I’m just to love them, be transparent, and point to You.  May my time in discipleship be intentional and fruitful for Your Kingdom!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Parenting Takes Work | Deanna George

S~ For you know that we dealt with each of you as a father deals with own children, encouraging, comforting, and urging you to live lives worthy of God, who calls you into his kingdom and glory. I Thessalonians 2:11 – 12 (NIV)

O~ A good and loving parent encourages, comforts, and urges their children to be productive, caring, and respectful people. The question for me is, ” Am I focusing my kids on God in their daily lives?”

A~ As a parent, I strive to be the best parent I can be. I want them to be successful, hard working, compassionate, and respectful individuals in this world. I want them to know and love Jesus. I do encourage, comfort, and urge them to seek and know Jesus, but do I do it in a way that prompts them to seek God on their own? They need to gave ownership of their faith. I need to learn how to encourage them in such a way that they understand ~ I need to learn to speak their language.

P~ Lord Jesus, please teach me my children’s language so that I may encourage them to know and seek you on their own. My desire is that it is personal for them!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 28, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

