November 27 Psalms 125; Matthew 26,27

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Secure in Surrendering to You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Those who trust in the Lord are as secure as Mount Zion; they will not be defeated but endure forever.  Psalm 125:1 (NLT)

O~  I am secure when I put my trust in God. I need to let that sink in!

A~ God helps me to endure and I am secure in him.  I need to trust him with everything.

P~ Father, show me those areas that I am not surrendering to you and help me to surrender all.

Born to Die | Kim Chipman

S~ “As you know, the Passover is two days away—and the Son of Man will be handed over to be crucified.” Matthew 26:2 (NIV)

O~ Jesus knew exactly what His purpose was, and He was trying to prepare His disciples for it.

A~ Today is the first day of advent, the season we prepare our hearts to celebrate the birth of Jesus our Savior! It is interesting to read today, then, that Jesus is preparing the disciples for His crucifixion. That was why You were sent, though. To save us all by defeating death. As I begin to focus my heart on the joy of Your birth, I must also remember the brutality of Your death and Your purpose here at all. You provide the perfect example of living and loving. You also provide the perfect example of a humble, sacrificial servant.

P~ Lord, help me to remain focused on living and loving more like You each day, the perfect, humble, sacrificial servant. Remembering the gift of Your very life for mine makes this season truly a celebration! I need a Savior…thank You for sending one! I love You!

Your will be done | Nikki Metzger

S~ My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may Your will be done. ~ Jesus in Matthew 26:42 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is in the garden praying before He was arrested.

A~ This plan of God’s still blows my mind.  That God would place His wrath and my sin on the perfect man, the Son.  He would bear it for me so that I will never be separated from either One of them again.  What?!  It’s a crazy awesome thing! Jesus, the author and perfector of my faith, chose to drink this cup.  In my daily living, do I strive to be like Jesus in this regard?  Am I laying down my life like He laid down His so God’s will is done?

Jesus gave it all so I could be in relationship with my Father in heaven.  How am I laying down my life so others can be in relationship with our Father in heaven?  Do I say as Jesus said? ‘Your will be done’?  What should I be saying, ‘Your will be done’ in my life?

I can think of a couple areas.  Tough areas!  Money and deep relationship.  I can lay down my money and say to God, ‘Your will be done’ when it comes to finances.  And in deep relationship.  I have a great many of surface level relationships, it’s time consuming and takes away from my comfort to go deep.  ‘Your will be done’ in my relationships!

P~ Father, Your will be done!

Take Responsibility | Deanna George

S~ When Pilate saw that he was getting nowhere, but that instead an uproar was starting, he took water and washed his hands in front of the crowd. “I am innocent of this man’s blood,” he said. “It’s your responsibility!” Matthew 27:24 (NIV)

O~ Pilot chose to not act on the truth. The truth that Jesus was innocent. His decision to not make a decision actually made a decision. He just believed that he wasn’t responsible for the decision. He washed his hands of the situation. Is that all it takes in our mind to clear us if our guilt of not doing the right thing?

A~ Washing our hands in a tough situation doesn’t erase our guilt; it just merely masks it with a false sense of peace. How often do we keep thinking about the situation after we removed ourselves? Our inaction is still action. It is allowing others to make a decision on something we have a say in. We need to take responsibility for ALL of our actions and decisions!

P~ Lord Jesus, please make it clear when I am choosing to wash my hands of a situation because I don’t want to make the hard decision. Please help me be strong, seek you for the truth, and make decisions that align your word (no matter how hard it is), and then take responsibility for my decisions. Help me to avoid what I think would be the easy road.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 27, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

