September 16 Ezekiel 40,41; Psalms 128; Revelation 21

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Someday, I Will Be Eating The Fruit! | Michelle Myers

S~ You will eat the fruit of your labor; blessings and prosperity will be yours. Psalm 128:2 (NIV)

O/A~ I have to believe this, in order to keep going.  When I start to doubt it, question the truthfulness of it, etc.; I find myself wanting to give up.  At those times, I am “at risk” of abandoning what You have told me to do, and doing what I want to do.  I understand that not all prosperity comes in the form of financial blessing.  However, there are some days, that it doesn’t seem to be coming in any form.  My kids aren’t doing what I have put labor into showing them.  The labor I put into cleaning or keeping up our home, seems to go rotten pretty quickly, when my family seems to be blind to the messes they create and leave around.  My scale isn’t seeing the fruit of my labor at the gym or from my preparing healthier meals.  The labor I have put into having a relationship with my extended family, has ended in more frustration, confusion, and division.  I could honestly go on and on.  So, I have to really BELIEVE that You are working things out for good, and that at some point there will be a harvest of some sort.

P~ Thank you God for Your promises.  Unlike the the words of people, I know in my heart of hearts, even in the middle of confusion, frustration, and anger; that Your words are trustworthy.  Please just help me remember this, when the yuck hits the fan, goes flying in every direction, and clean up seems to be a never ending job.

Things will be different!! | Nikki Metzger

S~ He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain.  All these things are gone forever. Revelation 21:4 (NLT)

O~ God is going to wipe our tears away!  Pain, sorrow, crying and death will be gone.

A~ The human condition of suffering will be gone!  We will just be praising God all day long.  And in a moment, those things that wound us….just gone.  Healed in a moment.

I keep thinking of a family surrounded by generations of abuse.  I see much pain and hurt and devastation.  I wonder if her tears are dried up because it’s just too much.  I thought to myself, ‘This family…to get healthy will have to seek long term therapy, make daily decisions towards healthiness, and understand this process will take many years.’

And if she has a relationship with the Lord, one day, all of her will be healed and whole in an instant.  So really, what’s the best way to reach her?  And the most beneficial?

P~ Oh Father, You see, You know!  Every place my feet take me…go before me and fight for the hearts of people You have put in front of me.  Let me be a CLEAR witness for Jesus.  That You will wipe the tears from their eyes.  I am not worthy for this work, I trust that You got this!!  I pray in Jesus’ Name!

Woe to the Cowardly | Kelley Deases

S~ But the cowardly, the unbelieving, the vile, the murderers, the sexually immoral, those who practice magic arts, the idolaters and all the liars — their place will be in the fiery lake of burning sulfur. This is the second death. Revelation 21:8 (NIV)

O~ This chapter describes some wondrous sights, sounds, and experiences which will accompany God’s eternal reign with us in the new heaven and the new earth. But for the wicked, fire and death and separation from Him are what is in store.

A~ What strikes me is as I read this is topping the list of grave sins for which punishment will surely ensue is cowardice. In general, I can safely say the other sins mentioned are not major struggles for me. Possibly idolatry, in a sense, as my dedication to the Lord and His agenda is not always pure and undivided. But being cowardly?! I definitely have not gotten complete victory in having and displaying courage. I don’t always maintain a bold witness when I should, but so often play it safe in my cloistered circles of church friends and acquaintances.

P~  Father, You make clear through Your Word what You desire to see in our lives — what draws us closer to Your heart. But You also clearly outline those things which separate us from Your holiness. Help me to flee from the sin of cowardice and walk in confident boldness as Your beloved daughter.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 16, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

