September 17 Ezekiel 42,43,44; Revelation 22

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at DiscoverOneThingPrayer@gmail.com

Be Holy | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ And this is the basic law of the Temple: absolute holiness!  The entire top of the hill where the Temple is built is holy.  Yes, this is the primary law of the Temple. Ezekiel 43:12 (NLT)

O~  God described the Temple.  Rooms here, rooms there, entrance here, entrance there.  Some rooms and entrances were set apart for the priests to store grain offerings, for their use.  The priests even had garments that they wore in the Holy place that they had to remove before they entered the public parts of the Temple (vs14).

Holy—exalted or worthy of complete devotion as one perfect in goodness and righteousness; having a divine quality.

A~ This reminded me of the verse that says be holy for I am holy, so I googled that and this came up:  1 Peter 1:13-16 Therefore, prepare your minds for action; be self-controlled; set your hope fully on the grace to be given you when Jesus Christ is revealed.  As obedient children, do not conform to the evil desires you had when you lived in ignorance. But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: “Be holy for I am holy.”

I am set apart. My body is the Temple.

P~  Thank you, Father, for your word that instructs me in how to be holy. Help me to live this way and bring you honor. I love you.

Sounds Simple | Michelle Myers

S~ I, John, am the one who heard and saw these things.  When I heard and saw them, I bowed down to worship at the feet of the angel who showed these things to me. But the angel said to me, ‘Do not worship me!  I am a servant like you, your brothers the prophets, and all those who obey the words in this book.  Worship God!'” Revelation 22:8-9 (NCV)

I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End. Revelation 22:13 (NCV)

O~ It is all about God.

A~ It all sounds so simple.  I like simple.  I try and keep things simple.  Yet, as a fleshly, sinful human being, I can make it so complicated.  Dealing with other’s people’s sin, is easy…just don’t eat too many donuts, don’t spend money you don’t have, don’t smoke that, don’t drink that, don’t judge the police officer that shot an unarmed man, don’t judge the young man in the video committing strong-armed robbery, don’t walk away with a prideful attitude…….

It sounds simple, but it is not.  And God knew it wouldn’t be, and that is why He sent Jesus.

The things of this world can really grab ahold of us.  When my mother-in-law was transported to Hospice House, the first thing she said to my husband was, “You are taking care of my apartment..right?”  I thought ,”Lady, you are getting ready to met Jesus, don’t worry about your apartment.”  Yet, as I struggle on a daily basis to let go of my own fleshly desires, and the things of this world, I might say the same thing.

One of the biggest problems in the hallway at the alternative school, where I taught was horseplay.  We would stop kids, tell them, “It is simple.  Walk straight from one class to another, without running, or touching anyone.”  It never failed…half way down the hall, they were either running or touching someone again.  Why?  Because for them, in their junior high, sinful, fleshly bodies, it was not that simple of a task.

It sounds simple, and in a perfect world, it would be simple.  That perfect world is called heaven.  And until I get there, I won’t be perfect, no matter how simple it sounds.  God knows that, and He loves me anyway.

P~ Thank you God for loving me anyway.  Thank you for giving me the opportunity to work with the students that I had.  I smile as I think about how frustrating they could be, but also know, that I am just as human as they are, the same goes for my own two girls…and that tends to complicate the simple.  Help me remember that this is a process that will last as long as I am on earth, but as long as I keep focused on YOU, I will continue to make progress.

“Come” | Nikki Metzger

S~ The Spirit and the bride say, “Come.”  Let anyone who hears this say, “Come.” Let anyone who is thirsty come.  Let anyone who desires drink freely from the Water of Life.  Revelation 22:17 (NLT)

O~ Everyone is invited to this party!  Everyone who is weary, tired, hungry, searching, thirsty, confused, or overwhelmed….there is more!!  Jesus opens up relationship with Him to anyone who wants it!

A~ The Holy Spirit is always encouraging with “Come.”  The bride, which represents the church, God’s people, says, “Come.”  Anyone who hears this says, “Come.”

God, do my conversations, my actions, my non-verbals to others say, “Come.”?

P ~ Lord, please help me with my “Come.” to others.  Especially those difficult people in my life!  We both know who they are.  Show me how “Come” can be the first and only thing from me to others, because You are ALL that matters in this life or the next!  A HOLY-NESS that I don’t get.  I lift the church up to You, show us what to do to be a place that says, “Come!”  Holy Spirit, guide the church, guide us, guide me…..prepare us all for a holy unfurling and drawing people to You!

Water for Today and Tomorrow | Tara Wiley

S~ The Spirit and the bride say, “Come!” Let the one who is thirsty come; and the let one who wishes take the free gift of the water of life. Revelation 22:17 (NIV)

O/A~ Our Scripture readings of the end times and future heaven sometimes seem so removed from the dusty, difficult reality of today.

But these scenes are no less real. They will come. Though I cannot understand the full implications of all that is promised in Ezekiel and Revelation, in Revelation 22:17 I hear Jesus echoed:

“Everyone who drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” John 4:14

This is a promise for today AND for the future.

P~ Lord, the stresses of today are wearing me down, and I feel dusty-thirsty. I have within me a spring of water, welling up to eternal life, for I am Your child. Spring up within me, God, and fill me to overflowing with the fruit of Your Spirit. Sink into the dry cracks of my spirit and make me flourish today, even in the hard places.

You? Yes, you. Come. | Kim Chipman

S~ The Spirit and the bride say, “Come.” Let anyone who hears this say, “Come.” Let anyone who is thirsty come. Let anyone who desires drink freely from the water of life. Revelation 22:17 (NLT)

O~ Revelation is sometimes difficult for me to understand. What I do hear loud and clear is the message of hope that this life is not the end, God is in control, and heaven is going to be *awesome*! This is a beautiful reminder to me…that He is for ANYONE. Anyone who is thirsty. The guy that shot people yesterday? Yes. Mother Theresa? Yes. And everyone in between. Even me! But we must make the choice to come and drink.

A~ I do not deserve the water of life. I struggle with prideful, judgmental, selfish thoughts. I am sinful. Sin-FULL. I must not for one moment think that because my sin looks different than another’s sin that I am any better or more deserving of Your life and Your love. You invite anyone who is thirsty to come. I must, in my thoughts and in my attitudes and in my words, remember this and bear Your witness to a thirsty world that is eating sand in an effort to quench their seemingly insatiable thirst.

P~ I love you Jesus. Please shine through my yucky darkness so others see your beautiful light through me. Help me to see others the way You see them, with love and not judgement, and use me to guide them to Your refreshing water….in spite of myself (You can push me out of Your way if you need to). I love you.

Interested in guest posting? Email us at DiscoverOneThing@gmail.com

Posted on September 17, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

