September 15 Ezekiel 38,39; Psalms 145; Revelation 20

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Lord is Compassionate | Kim Chipman

S~ The Lord is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love. The Lord is good to all; he has compassion on all he has made. Psalm 145:8-9 (NIV)

O~ Reading Revelation and Ezekiel right now feels like You are just wrath and judgement. This is a delightful reminder that You are not only that. You are just, but You are also gracious and compassionate, slow to anger, rich in love, good to all.

A~ About the past week, one of my great sins has been replaying in my mind over and over again. I can’t seem to shake it. I’ve been thinking about it constantly. I’ve confessed and repented to You and to the person involved, but the relationship with this person is not the same. I screwed up, and I would do just about anything to rewind the clock and do the right thing. Obviously, I can’t. I can’t make this relationship be restored to what it was singlehandedly. The other person has to want to restore the friendship also.

The thing I see now, this morning, as I sit in the dark, is that my relationship with You is separate from that. You see my heart, my regret, my pain. You saw my pain when I made the very poor choice. You are just, yes, but You also have compassion on all You have made. When I return to You repentant and oh so very filled with remorse and regret – our relationship is restored.

My human friendship may, or may not. I pray that it is. I know You are healer and You can restore. But whether that relationship is restored or not, my relationship with You is good. You see me and have compassion and are gracious. That whole while I was sinning you still died for me thing…that’s truth, You did that. I can’t project a human relationship onto You. Oh, man…I think I do that!? If my relationships with people are good I think we’re good. If my people are upset I feel like You’re upset with me, too. I think I do that! Ugh!

P~ Help me to see You for You today and people as people. Help me to feel Your compassion, forgiveness and love for me even if this friendship cannot be restored. Help me to serve and honor You above all else. Help my heart to heal, it’s kind of a mess. I love You!

Between Me and God | Michelle Myers

S~ The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.  Psalm 145:18 (NIV)

O~ God wants to hear from me, and when He does, He wants the truth.

A~ This is good, because I am not good at fake.  I called on You this morning, and gave you a whole ear full about how I am utterly frustrated and confused by You.  I totally let You know that I am angry with You.  I told YOU and my husband the truth, when he tried to fix and apologize for something he didn’t even do.  I let him know, “Oh no, this is between me and God at this point.”  So I am counting on You to be near me, and give me whatever wisdom I need in this situation, because I am listening, obeying, etc. and have been for awhile, and now I am just plain confused and angry.

P~ Thank you God for wanting my honesty.  Not everyone does.  Thank you for being able to handle it, when I am not pleased with You.  Not everyone can.  I clearly understand why things go south when I am not listening to You or being obedient.  However, it is beyond confusing and frustrating when I have listened and been obedient, and things still are going south and there is still this constant struggle.  It leaves me struggling in understanding and trusting in my connection to You, the wisdom I thought I received from You, and even sometimes my own sanity.  Please just help me “get” whatever it is I need to “get”.

The Book of Life | Joni Tyner

S~ I saw the dead, both great and small, standing before God’s throne.  And the books were opened, including the Book of Life. And the dead were judged accorded to what they had done, as recorded in the books. Revelation 20:12 (NLT)

O~ Both believers and nonbelievers will one day be judged for everything they have done.  It is all written down.  I have accepted Christ as my savior and so my name is written in the Book of Life—my name is in the Book of Life because of what Jesus did for me on the cross, NOT for any of the good deeds I have done.

A~ This is one of those scriptures that causes me to fall to my face and worship God with thanksgiving and undying gratitude.  I just can’t wrap my mind around seeing a book that has recorded every single action in my life.  Every single account of when I’ve been mean, rude, selfish, angry, prideful, dishonest.  I’m pretty sure there is a thick chapter from that past 24 hours,  but my whole life????   I have done good things that I hope have pleased the Lord, but  I’m so relieved that my salvation is ABSOLUTELY NOT based on my deeds, that they have to outweigh the bad actions.   My Bible notes say that our good deeds will not save us but they will be clear evidence of what our actual relationship is with God. Jesus will look at how we have handled gifts, opportunities and responsibilities.

P~ Dear Lord, a lot of Revelation is tough to understand and I have been guilty of just ignoring it.  Thank you for the reminder this morning—that what I do each day matters!!  Please help me to make good choices that honor You.  I need to work on the little things, my attitude, the tone in my voice, a new level of forgiveness for people.   Thank you for the gift of eternal life and that You put my name in the Book of Life.  I pray this morning that each reader will ponder this scripture and worship You will a fresh sense of gratitude and commitment that their name is in the Book of Life as well.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 15, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

