April 6, 2019 Deuteronomy 23,24; Romans 3:21-31

“There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:42 (NLT) The heart of this ministry is to inspire a love for God’s Word and encourage the discipline of daily Bible reading and SOAP journaling. These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Eyes of Grace | Kim Chipman

S~ You shall remember that you were a slave in the land of Egypt; therefore I command you to do this. Deuteronomy 24:22 (ESV)

for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus Romans 3:23-24 (ESV)

O~ In Deuteronomy You commanded farmers to leave behind leftovers after harvest for those less fortunate – remembering where they came from. In Romans You reminded us that we ALL sin and are ALL redeemed by Your grace as a gift. There is great value in remembering. Remembering where we came from in our past, remembering that we sin and need Your grace, remembering that others can receive Your grace and redemption as well. There is level ground at the foot of the cross.

A~ This remembering is tremendously valuable for me as well. I’m on a journey and need to remember where I came from and where I’ve been. It helps me to be patient with others when I can see them in this light as well. I pray that today I can see others with these eyes today. Eyes of grace.

P~ Lord, thank You for Your grace. I need it. Help me to give it as generously as I’ve received it. I love You!

The Proper Response | Joni Tyner

S~ Can we boast, then, that we have done anything to be accepted by God? No, because our acquittal is not based on obeying the law. It is based on faith. So we are made right with God through faith and not by obeying the law. Romans 3:27-28 (NLT)

And in the Message Bible-

What we’ve learned is this: God does not respond to what we do; we respond to what God does. We’ve finally figured it out. Romans 3:28 – The Message

O~ We have been reading Romans for the past 5 days. There is so much in this scripture about how God hates sin and that humans can do nothing to save themselves. We are saved through faith. I really like how the Message puts it, “God does not respond to what we do but we respond to what He does.”

A~ Why faith? I read my Bible notes on this scripture and it gave four reasons. I keep learning more and more about God as I read my Bible ! These are what my NLT Bible notes say:

Faith eliminates the pride of human effort, because faith is not a deed we can do.
Faith exalts what God has done, not what we do.
Faith admits we can’t keep the law or measure up to God’s standard- we need help!
Faith is based on our relationship with God, not our performance for God.

P~ Dear Lord, when I look at my personal faith walk, I often see my accomplishments and efforts. Please forgive me!! I ask for an increased awareness that have a natural response of gratitude for everything You do. 3 I ask that You help me to remember this scripture as I go through my week. It’s always a response to You, never because of what I have done.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Leave a comment