October 1 Zechariah 10,11,12; Psalms 126; Luke 14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Restore Me | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ When the Lord restored his exiles to Jerusalem, it was like a dream. Psalms 126:1 (NLT)

O~ God does amazing things!  Here the psalmist speaks of the return of the exiles to Jerusalem.  They were exiles, they had sinned, had suffered so much in the hands of their enemies, and now they were being restored.

A~ I feel as if I had lost my voice, myself in a relationship and I can look back and see the times I needed to say something but didn’t and now you are bringing me restoration.  You are helping me with what to say and giving me the courage to say it (sweaty armpits and all!)

P~ Dear Father thank you for the work you have begun in me to restore me.  Bringing order back by what you show me to do and say.

Promise | Nikki Metzger

S~ Those who plant in tears will harvest with shouts of joy. ~ Psalm 126:5 (NLT)

O~ This psalm is about the exiles coming home. The Lord brought them home, but it was a ruin. As the people were planting, they wept. Wept, maybe, for their sins, what could have been, missed blessings, the destruction they saw. But at the next season, there were shouts of joy during the harvest.

A~ Jesus calls this life a harvest. At the end of time, there will be a harvest of souls. He will separate what from chaff. Oh, how I pray that my kids and family members are part of the harvest. Besides my brothers and sisters in Christ, I want my biological family with me in eternity too.

Right now I am in a season of planting in tears. Parenting is a tough go in this house. But I need to keep planting seeds in my children, even through the tears. God shares with me this sweet promise of joyful shouting at harvest time! What a gift!

P~ Father, thank You!!!!!!!!!!!! For reassuring me that it’s OK to plant (parent) in tears. You got this! You have my precious babies and will grow them in the soil (life). Thank You in advance for the joyful shouts at harvest time! I can’t wait!!

 

Interested in guest posting? Email us at info@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 1, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nikki, thanks for this reminder. Thinking of the song that comes from Psalms, “There may be pain in the night, but joy comes in the morning.” I’ve pretty much told myself that a thousand times!

Leave a Reply

