October 2 Zechariah 13,14; Psalms 147; Luke 15

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Choices | Michelle Myers

S~ On that day, I will banish the names of the idols from the land and the will be remembered no more.  Zechariah 13:2 (NIV)

O/A~ You have me in a season where I am having to deal with giving up some more of my idols.  It is a painful process.  It has also lead me to understand that some of the things I thought were already banished from my list of idols, aren’t really.  Yet, as someone who really doesn’t even want a lot, some of the things I grieve the loss of, seems silly.  I have come to realize that it isn’t so much about the loss of the “thing”, but the loss of the choice of doing or having the “thing”.

My finances prevent me from having a lot of choices in regards to what I want to do with our money.  There was a time that I gave up a lot with a good heart, recognizing the choice in my attitude about it.  This was prior to everything coming out in regards to my husband, and me believing that we were working toward the same financial goal.  Now it is not him doing anything deceitful or wrong, but the circumstances that You have allowed to happen to us.  Honestly, it has left me struggling in a lot of areas………..hope, trust in You, my prayer life, etc.  It seems the more I pray, the more junk I get, so I haven’t been very prayerful lately.

I am trying to recognize the choices and blessings that I do have.  I am trying to keep things in perspective.  I am trying to have a good heart about it all.  I am trying to love people well (mainly my husband) in spite of it.  Truth be told, I am struggling with ALL of it.

P~ Thank you God for the understanding of it not so much being about the “thing”, but it being about the choice.  Please help me see Your truths in it.  Please help me love people well.  Help me understand the spiritual issues and purpose behind it, and heal whatever needs to be healed.

Welcoming | Kim Chipman

S~ But the Pharisees and the teachers of the law muttered, “This man welcomes sinners and eats with them.” Luke 15:2 (NIV)

O~ The tax collectors and sinners were all gathering round to hear Jesus. He teaches the parable of the lost sheep, the lost coin, and the lost son – all parables highlighting the JOY God has when one repents.

A~ How willing am I to reflect Jesus’ character in this way? Welcoming the broken, the difficult, the hurting. These are often difficult people to love well because they are usually difficult to get along with. They make decisions that are frustrating. Sometimes they are abrasive, irritable, critical or hypersensitive.

But hurting people hurt people. There are LOTS of hurting people. Am I going to be a Pharisee and know lots about Your teaching or am I going to be like Jesus and love people lavishly?

P~ Your priorities are to love You and love people. Help me do this well. Help me to welcome difficult people genuinely and lovingly…eat with them…share life with them…that they may come to You in repentance and the heavens will REJOICE! I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at Prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 2, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

