December 5 Ephesians 5,6; Psalms 119:1-80

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Love Like Jesus | Kim Chipman

S~ Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God. Ephesians 5:1-2 (NIV)

O~ 1 Corinthians 13:1-7 If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

A~ I’m in a tough parenting season with a couple of my kids. The thing I feel You telling my heart is to love them. Like really love them well. Quite honestly, I don’t feel like it. They don’t deserve it, I could justify 1000 reasons to ride the hard like of discipline, but when it comes right down to it, that’s not where my heart is and it’s not what I feel You asking me to do.

I am to follow Your example and sacrificially walk in love just like You did for me. Unless and until I do I will gain nothing. Loving people who are difficult and do not deserve it is following Your example. People/relationships are always more important than rules.

P~ Lord, help me to walk in the way of love today. Help me to be patient, kind, gentle, forgiving and sacrificial. Help me to love like You love. I can’t do it without You. I love You!

Pray! | Deanna George

S~ And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. Ephesians 6:18 (NIV)

O~ Pray continuously. They can be little quick prayers to get down on your knees and pour your heart out. God just wants to be included in your life. I cannot get away from the idea that God is reminding me that when the Holy Spirit places someone on my mind, I need to pray for them right then and there. The people I pray for needs to include people outside of my bubble. He wants me to pray on a much larger scale.

A~ I need to act on the nudging from the Holy Spirit to pray for the person he puts on my mind. I also need to regularly pray for my pastors, my kid’s teachers, my police force, and my government. I have been forgetful to include these extra people, and that needs to stop!!

P~ Lord Jesus, I’m sorry my prayers have been consumed with my small circle of family and friends. My world consists of so many more that need to be covered by your protection. It is my responsibility as a believer to pray for all your people. Please continue to place people on my heart. Help me to remember that I need to do more than think about them and wonder how they are doing. Help me to become the prayer warrior you desire me to be.

 

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 5, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

