March 14, 2019 Numbers 14-16; Acts 11

“There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:42 (NLT) The heart of this ministry is to inspire a love for God’s Word and encourage the discipline of daily Bible reading and SOAP journaling. These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God’s Truth, NOT My Opinion | Joni Tyner

S~ But when Peter arrived back in Jerusalem, the Jewish believers criticized him, “you entered the home of Gentiles and even ate with them!” they said.  Acts 11:2-3 (NLT)

O~ Peter went to the house of Cornelius, a religious Roman officer who was not a Jew.  Peter shared the gospel with him and he and his household received the Holy Spirit and were baptized.  Peter was criticized by the Jewish Christians because they felt he had broken Jewish laws and, in their opinion, the Gentiles were not worthy of receiving salvation.   Peter responds by saying, “And since God gave these Gentiles the same gift he gave us when we believed in the Lord Jesus Christ, who was I to stand in God’s way.?” (Acts 11:17)

A~ This scripture reminded me of a blog I read a couple of days ago by Amy Carroll.  She shares about the danger of acting like our opinions are truth.  God’s Truth, the Bible, is what we should stand on, not our own opinions.  It’s so sad that the opinions of Christians keep many people from feeling welcome in church.  It could be their lifestyle, (do they smoke, drink, wear certain clothes, sexual orientation, or _____? )  I’ve also heard countless opinions about worship music, it’s too loud, too boring, too much bass, too much organ…and so on).  These are opinions and not God’s Truth.    I’ve included the link to Amy’s blog, she explains it better, but my application is

watch my mouth about spouting off opinions!!

P~ Dear Jesus, I want to be a witness that draws people to You!!!  Please forgive me if my opinions have been a stumbling block for people to find You.  I ask You would infuse me with fresh compassion, patience and love as I interact with people.  I love You, help me to give people grace in their faith journey and help me to understand and share Your Truth with accuracy and love.

Here’s the LINK!!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Leave a comment