August 20, 2018 Job 18; Psalm 114; Hebrews 12:1-13

“There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:42 (NLT) The heart of this ministry is to inspire a love for God’s Word and encourage the discipline of daily Bible reading and SOAP journaling. These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Escape or Engage? | Kelley Deases

S~ Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, … Hebrews 12:1 (NIV)

O~ This common verse is so rich with meaning, and I have journaled on it a number of times before. I have been awed by the “great cloud of witnesses” described in Hebrews, but also by those God has specifically given to lead me to the faith, grow me up in the faith and encourage me in the faith. I have pondered how life is a race, for which I need to persevere and whose course is uniquely marked out for me. But this time, as I read these beloved words, what hits me between the eyes is the middle portion, how I am called to throw off whatever hinders and throw off any sin which keeps me tied up.

A~ When I reflect on this season of life, with all its joys and challenges and smiles and tears and messes and blessings, I have to admit I am doing a poor job at this “throwing off” bit and doing the exact opposite, embracing them. When I have had a stressful day at work, filled with impending deadlines and “other duties as assigned,” or I have had the umpteenth argument in row with my son over the same issue, or my to-do list never seems to get shorter, I like to retreat to my little indulgences: a good suspense novel, a crossword puzzle or my favorite word game on my phone. As I think of it now, I am choosing to escape rather than engage. Jesus bids me come to Him in my weariness and He will provide true rest — perspective over my job, guidance in my parenting and renewed priorities which supersede my lists. I don’t know that the Lord is calling me to quit reading anything but the Bible or give up my phone, but I need to continually check myself to be sure lesser things are not becoming hindrances or entanglements keeping me from running my best race.

P~ Jesus, Help me want to fill my cup first with Your truth, Your peace and Your mission over anything else.

Persevere! | Kim Chipman

S~ Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, Hebrews 12:1 (NIV)

O~ Perseverance has been a theme for me lately.

The thing that stands out to me from this verse today (and I’ve probably read this verse hundreds of times) is “since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses”. I’ve always thought about this as people who have gone before me in faith and my brothers and sisters in Christ now; other believers. Today it strikes me that there are A LOT of other people that witness my life. Believers AND unbelievers. My family. My kids. My neighbors. Random acquaintances. Parents of my kids’ friends. My kids’ friends.

A~ How I live this thing out matters. It is important to throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. It matters to run my race with perseverance. Culture says it’s not big deal and anything goes, but that is a LIE. People are watching and I want them to see You. I want to run my race well.

P~ Lord, help me to run my race with perseverance. Help me to throw off all that hinders and entangles my heart and holds me back from living on fire for You and You alone. My audience of One. I love You!

Reset the Grip | Joni Tyner

S~ So take a new grip with your tired hands and strengthen your weak knees.  Mark out a straight path for your feet so that those who are weak and lame will not fall but become strong.  Hebrews 12:12-13 (NLT)

O~ Earlier in chapter 12 of Hebrews, the writer of Hebrews is reminding us that discipline comes from God but that there is reward for us after it happens.  Being discipled results in fatigue and mental exhaustion, it throws everything off balance.   God is telling us, “ reset your grip!” Drink a protein shake and get strong!  (okay he didn’t say that, but  to strengthen ourselves and mark out a strong path.)   The reason?   Others will see us and become stronger as they continue on their path of faith.

A~ My Bible notes on this scripture really stopped me in my tracks this morning.  It says that we can’t just live in survival mode with only our own survival in mind. Others are watching our lives. The Bible notes asked the question if our example would make it easier for others to believe in and follow Christ and mature our faith.  Or, would those who follow our path of faith be confused and misled?    As I reflect over the challenges we’ve faced in parenting over the past 10 years, I can definitely say that I have frequently felt physical fatigue and exhaustion.  There have been times when I have responded in a strong way, and there have been many times I have been angry and lashed out in a destructive manner.  I want to be on the correct path and this scripture reminds me to take a fresh breath of air and buckle down and stay the course.

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for this reminder that there is always purpose in our discipline and pain.  I pray You would give me new insight into my life’s purpose and that I would be faithful at staying on correct path.  Please help to use my growing knowledge to strengthen and encourage others in their struggles.  I ask for increased sensitivity in my ears and eyes to see other people’s struggles and to give them encouragement for their own journey.

Discipline | Kimi Miller

S~ No discipline is enjoyable while it is happening – it’s painful! But afterward there will be a harvest of right living for those who are trained this way. Hebrews 12:11 (NLT)

O~ My self-discipline isn’t the greatest. I do much better when I know someone else is expecting something from me – and the fear of disappointing them drives me to performance. The fear of disappointing You drives me the most. Perhaps that is why I am where I am. Because I don’t want to let You down, or be punished for failing to meet Your expectations for me.

But then, I’m reminded by Your Spirit, that, “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves punishment, and the one who fears in not perfected in love” (1 John 4:18).

A~ You will discipline me my whole life. Not because I’m being punished, but because You are perfecting me in Your love. You know me better than anyone else! You know what I need, and when I need it. Whether that is a kind word, or a swift kick in the pants. You discipline me to prepare me for the things You have prepared for me.

In this current season of rest, I’m learning that You are always at work in my heart. Even when I don’t want to do the work, You are still working. You are always teaching me, showing me, guiding me with love. Even when it doesn’t feel like I’m doing anything, You are. Maybe that’s what You are trying to teach me – that I don’t have to do all the work. Maybe this “forced” season of rest is a form of discipline in which I’m learning the greater discipline of patience and trust.

P~ Jesus, I’m sorry I’m such a stubborn student. Thank you for knowing what I need – even when I don’t want to admit it. Thanks for having the strength I don’t, and the discipline when I won’t. I love You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Leave a comment