August 12, 2018 Job 5; Psalm 108; Hebrews 8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

It’s too early!! | guest post

S~ Awake, harp and lyre!  I will awaken the dawn. Psalm 108:2 (NIV)

O~ I’m up before the dawn – and I’m not loving it today.  David says to sing and make music with all my soul.  Ugh – it’s too early to do that!

A~ [ Insert solo worship session with YouTube and a quiet volume to not wake the family.]

P~ Father, what is it about worshiping You that changes my heart?  How did I go from dreading the busy day to awe and wonder of Your majesty?  You are so good!  Thank You for singing and worship!  I love You!

With Your Help; Not Alone | Kimi Miller

S~ With God’s help we will do mighty things, for he will trample down our foes. Psalm 108:13 (NLT)

O~ With Your help I will do mighty things. So why am I looking for something to do that doesn’t require Your help?

A~  I recently applied for a part time position and even interviewed for it – whether or not I got the job I have yet to hear, but I was convicted yesterday about my desire for the position. I realized why this particular job appealed to me because I feel like it’s something I can do without You – like all of these small tasks I’ve already had the training for. I can do most of the tasks without any real dependence on You and full reliance on myself.

I’m so sorry, Lord. Please forgive me for thinking I can do ANYTHING without You! I know You have plans for my life and that You can be trusted – that You are good and Your ways are best for me. I know, too, that Your greatest desire is for me to be Your and for You to be mine and my God.

P~ Jesus, I don’t ever want to be in a place where it’s easy to forget You! No matter how much I’m afraid of being hurt again, I don’t want to do anything apart from You. If this is something I still need to work out in my heart – if I’m not sincere in my desire to be with You and to need You – then clearly I’m not ready for You to open any doors. I trust You with and for everything. I love You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Leave a comment