June 3, 2018 2 Samuel 3; 1 Chronicles 12; Galatians 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Only by grace | Marisa Hartman

S~ I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing! Galatians 2:21 (NIV)

O~ The Christians at Galatia were reverting back to the rules of the law. They were using their old customs to try to justify themselves before God. Paul was irritated with them for not understanding that the ONLY way to be justified is through Christ. If that were not true, why would Christ have to die?

A~ As a modern day Christian, I have never practiced the old customs. I do, however, find myself trying to earn God’s grace like they did. It just looks a little different. If I just read my Bible enough, attend church every week, and only listen to Christian music, then He’ll forgive me, right? Or, If I don’t yell at my kids, or watch R rated movies, or fight with my husband, I’m good, right? Well, right and very wrong. I’m good because I’m forgiven. It’s not what I do or don’t do that reconciles me with God. It’s the precious sacrifice my Savior made on the cross that does that. It’s good for me to do my best to be holy, but I’m going to mess up. In His wisdom and mercy He knew that and made a way for ALL of us to return to Him. I am called to love as Christ loved, but that doesn’t earn my spot in heaven. Only my relationship and acceptance of Jesus as my Lord will do that.

P~ Father thank you for knowing that we could never earn our way back to you. Thank you for the plan You put in place from the beginning of time to rescue us from sin. Help me remember that You alone are my saving grace and that You love me always. Thank you for the forgiveness you so freely offer. I am honored to be called Yours. Amen

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Leave a comment