May 11, 2018 1 Samuel 1,2; Psalm 66; 1 Corinthians 11

“There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:42 (NLT) The heart of this ministry is to inspire a love for God’s Word and encourage the discipline of daily Bible reading and SOAP journaling. These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

My Precious Son | Kim Chipman

S~ I prayed for this child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of him. So now I give him to the Lord. For his whole life he will be given over to the Lord.” And he worshiped the Lord there. 1 Samuel 1:27-28 (NIV)

O~ Hannah was unable to become pregnant, and she prayed and prayed for a child, promising to give him to the Lord’s service. Once he was weaned she took him to the tabernacle and left him with Eli to serve the Lord.

A~ My mama’s heart feels for Hannah right now. My eldest is graduating from high school and will launch into his new life. My heart has all the feels. ALL. The. Feels. So happy and proud, sad he won’t live in our home on the daily, a bit of regret for things I did or failed to do, anxiety for the unknown…This is exactly what i need to shift my heart toward. I’m not launching my boy into the world, I’m giving him to the Lord. I prayed for this child. I love him so much. I’m choosing to live in trust that You, Lord, love him even more than I do. I’m giving him over to You.

Please take good care of him.

P~ Thank You for the gift of my children. I pray specifically for my precious Zach as he graduates from high school. Be with him. Guide him. I love him so much and I know You do too.

Hannah’s Tears | Joni Tyner

S~ Hannah was in deep anguish, crying bitterly as she prayed to the Lord.  1 Samuel 1:10 (NLT)

O~ Hannah went to the Tabernacle every year and was brokenhearted.  She couldn’t have children.  She had a mother’s heart and no child to nurture. She was also made fun of by her husband’s other wife, Peninnah.  Peninnah gave her husband children and gloated it to poor Hannah.  Besides the emotional part of not being able to have a baby, it was considered the woman’s fault and shameful in that culture to be barren. Poor Hannah, she loved the Lord and continued to pray, year after year, for a baby as it seemed the Lord wasn’t listening and didn’t care. Life was not good.

A~ I want to have Hannah’s tenacious spirit and continue to pray to the Lord when my circumstances are bleak.  I can identify with Hannah, wanting to do what God created her to do, love a child. Why wouldn’t God bless her and why did He allow Peninnah to torment her?  I don’t know. God’s ways are not human ways, but I do know His character is always loving, caring and good.  He heard her prayers and gave her a son, Samuel. Her heart of gratitude was overflowing, she gave him back to the Lord. She trusted the Lord when she didn’t understand the circumstances.  The Lord then blessed her with 3 more sons and 2 daughters.

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for Hannah’s example of trusting You.  It comforts me to know others struggle yet ultimately find their peace and joy in trusting You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Leave a comment