Daily Archives: September 6, 2017

September 6, 2017 Proverbs 1-3; 1 Peter 3:1-12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Author of wisdom | Nikki Metzger

S~ For the Lord gives wisdom, and from His mouth come knowledge and understanding.  Proverbs 2:6 (NIV)

O/A~ The Lord gives wisdom.  He is the creator of knowledge and understanding.  My struggles that I’m having right in life; the Lord has the ultimate understanding and knowledge about them.

P~ Father, I need wisdom from You about what goes in my body.  Lord, You give wisdom and provide knowledge and understanding.

My Life Verse | Kim Chipman

S~ Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him,
    and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6 (NIV)

O~ This is my life verse, specifically from the NIV because it reminds me to submit to You not just acknowledge You. Yet still each time I read it different things stand out to me.

A~ Today?

*lean not on your own understanding – sheesh there are lots of things I just don’t understand. Boggles my mind. I need to continually choose to trust You and Your truth because my limited brain doesn’t compare to Yours.

*in ALL your ways SUBMIT to Him – am I doing this? in ALL my ways? I know I’m not. Time to get serious. Focus today. Submit to your Lordship in EVERYthing.

P~ Thank You for this reminder today! This verse is very familiar but still alive and speaking to my heart. Help me to trust You and submit ALL to You today and every day. I love You!

Share Truth! | Joni Tyner

S~ If you want to enjoy life and see many happy days, keep your tongue from speaking evil and your lips from telling lies.  1 Peter 3:10 (NLT)

O~ Peter is reminding me that the best way to have an enjoyable, fulfilling life is to be a person of integrity. I need to be on constant guard to not spread lies,  or allowing half -truths to be assumed of a situation. –this includes exaggerating facts and being careless with details.

A~ This is such a constant battle to consistently speak uplifting words about everyone.   And half-truths and lies, oh my goodness, these are spread with the simple click of the mouse—the “sharing” of an article on social media that may have many untrue statements.   I need to be on constant guard to not assume everything I see is truth.

I recently saw several links to articles on Facebook about Hurricane Harvey and the author’s perception of how “removed” Joel Olsteen was from the disaster by not allowing hurricane victims to take refuge in their church.  It was unbelievable how many supposedly Christians slammed his alleged actions and used scripture to back up their accusations.  I must admit I initially had a negative response to the article and a judgmental attitude. (although I didn’t share the article on my newsfeed.)   Then, it comes out a few days later that the facts were grossly exaggerated and there was no truth to what was originally said. It is sad how many people, (many self-proclaimed Christians) spread and contributed to an untrue story.  I may not agree with all the doctrine or lifestyle choices of Joel Olsteen, but my goodness!!!—everyone is trying to do their part with helping hurricane victims, shouldn’t that be the common goal? As I read in another post, I think Jesus desires me to focus on what I should be doing, not worrying what everyone else is doing.

P~ Dear Lord, I need your help to control my tongue in all sorts of situations.  I can easily get sucked into a “story” that often is not completely true.  Please give me wisdom to discern what type of news to share with others. Please help me to remember and speak about other people’s good qualities instead of griping and pointing out their weaknesses.  I pray for every person affected by the hurricane.  Dear Lord, they are so weary!!!—please provide each person with rest, with unexpected blessings and that through this disaster,  You will receive glory.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

