Daily Archives: September 4, 2017

September 4, 2017 Job 39,40; 1 Peter 2:11-17

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Doing Good to Silence the Chatter | Kelley Deases

S~ For it is God’s will that by doing good you should silence the ignorant talk of foolish man. 1 Peter 2:15 (NIV)

O~ When we set our minds and hearts upon doing good — doing that which God has laid before us to do, ministering to those in our circle, helping out where we see need or distress — we should have no time left  to feel attacked or take offense. Ours is to keep taking step after step in our walk of faith, being true to our call as chosen ones.

A~ It seems I am in the crosshairs of someone in my life who has taken issue with me on a theological point. I have not taken issue with her nor her stance and have chosen not to engage in fruitless debate. I am wholly content in the knowledge that the Body of Christ has many parts and want to avoid getting ensnared in denominational, and potentially divisive, minutia.

When I was first confronted, it caused me to doubt myself and to feel defensive and indignant. But I have had a chance to sit with the Lord and sought the counsel of my husband, my mentor and my pastor. I received affirmation and support and the encouragement I needed to stand firm in my faith. Now is the matter of just walking it out and doing good, as Peter urges in this verse, and not being thrown off kilter by someone else’s issue . “He has shown you, O man, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.” Micah 6:8

P~ Father, This is an ambitious enough life mission without fretting over whether everyone else approves of our actions. As long as You approve, I know I am okay.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

