Daily Archives: August 12, 2017

August 12, 2017 Job 5; Psalm 108; Hebrews 8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Wise Advice | Kim Chipman

S~ But if I were you, I would appeal to God; I would lay my cause before him…We have examined this, and it is true. So hear it and apply it to yourself. Job 5:8, 27 (NIV)

O~ Job’s friends are giving him advice. “But if I were you…” ” We have examined this…” “apply it to yourself…” I’m sure Job’s friends have the best intentions, but I’ve been on the receiving end of this sort of advice and largely it has not been what I needed to hear. Just because his friends have observed some stuff and came to some sort of conclusion does not mean that their conclusion is from You.

Psalm 111:10  The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom…

Proverbs 2:6 For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.

A~ 2 things come to mind here for me.

  1. Where am I looking for advice? Am I seeking You? Am I serving You? Or am I trying to please people? Job was “blameless and upright”. He was serving and following You. He knew his heart and his relationship with You. That’s all that really matters.
  2. How am I giving advice? YOU are the source of wisdom. I need to lead people to Your lap and drop them off to chat with YOU. That’s the best (and probably only) advice I should give anyone.

P~ Lord, help me to remember where wisdom comes from. Help me to filter advice from friends, even the best intentions are not Your voice. Help me to give great advice by leading people closer to You. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com