Daily Archives: August 11, 2017

August 11, 2017 Job 3,4; Hebrews 7:18-28

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

A better hope | Trisha Baker

S~ (For the law made nothing perfect),and a better hope is introduced, by which we draw near to God.-Hebrews 7:19(NLT)

O~ I have always thought of the law as the way of life everyone has tried unsuccessfully to achieve on their own. Trying to just follow the rules to get success only bring frustration. But when we spend time with God and read the Bible, we begin to have a better understanding of the way to be a success. And we become a success when we allow to God to begin to change us and the things we want to be more like the things He wants.

A~ There have been so many times in my life where I have tried to figure out the solution to the problems that life brings on a regular basis.Usually though, the solution that I try to bring about does not have a very good result. In fact,usually the result seems worse than what the original problem is. But lately, I have heard the Lord begin to tell me to stop trying to fix and just watch what he does. At first, it was very hard to just wait on Him and trust, but as I spent more time reading the Bible trusting Him became easier. And as I wait for Him,my heart begins to fill with a new hope. A hope that gets me through the day and strength for the next day as well.In the past few weeks, I have seen Him fix somethings in my life which I thought were major hiccups which I couldn’t figure out how to fix and began to get anxious right away. But then I heard him as I prayed. I heard Him tell me He had the solution and He is the one I need to put my hope and trust in and not the things I think I can fix.

P~ Father God,thank you so much for the things you do in my life everyday to show me the depths of your love and grace. You are amazing to me and I love you so much. Help me to trust you more and more each day with all the little things that happen throughout the day. In your precious name, Amen.

Completely! | Kim Chipman

S~ Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to Godthrough him, because he always lives to intercede for them. Hebrews 7:25 (NIV)

O~ Jesus has permanent priesthood. Death removes others from continuing to serve in this capacity, but Jesus lives forever and is always interceding on my behalf.

A~ This brings freedom and JOY! Hallelujah! You are able to save completely!

I often don’t feel worthy of it, or if I’m honest, believe that you really can. (Eeks! I believe, but help my unbelief!) I’m a mess. There are parts of my heart and life that I can comprehend You redeeming, but not all of it. I can’t wrap my head around it.

You are able to save COMPLETELY!

P~ Thank You! I praise You! You are able! I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com