Daily Archives: August 10, 2017

August 10, 2017 Job 1,2; Hebrews 7:4-17

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Worship | Kim Chipman

S~ At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head. Then he fell to the ground in worship Job 1:20 (NIV)

O~ Wait, what!? Job just lost EVERYTHING. All of his possessions and all of his CHILDREN! I can’t imagine! His first response is mourning and falling to the ground in worship.

A~ I’m super convicted by this today. I know my heart and I know this is not where it would go. I tend to be a bit of a whiner and I’m not super proud of that.

The great thing is that along with feeling convicted I feel empowered to change it. I can refocus my thoughts and choose worship. No matter the circumstances Your character never changes. I can choose what I focus on. I can choose gratitude. I can choose worship!

P~ Lord, thank You for the example of Job. I’m convicted, but encouraged at the same time. Help me to honor and worship You no matter what my circumstances are. I love You!

Giving Quiet Comfort | Joni Tyner

S~ Then they sat on the ground with him for seven days and nights. No one said a word to Job, for they saw that his suffering was too great for words.  Job 2:13 (NLT)

O~  Job has just lost all of his children, his servants, livestock, herdsmen, and his home.  His friends have heard about this series of tragic events and came to visit him.

They sit beside him in silence for 7 days.

A~  I’ve always struggled with what to do in really sad, difficult situations. I used to stay away because I didn’t know what to say or do. I’d send a card.  I want to be a compassionate, supportive person and be there for people, I don’t want to avoid hard situations because of my immaturity.

My brother-in-law died unexpectedly about 6 months ago and was only 52 years old. My husband and I flew to Georgia for the funeral and to give support to his widow.  She is a quiet, private person and handles her grief differently than I would if i had been in that situation.  I wanted to help and ease her pain so i tried doing things to help her. I ran errands for her. I cleaned out a spare bedroom for her. (that was her suggestion for what I could do to help.)  I offered to cook a meal.  I helped her organize her photos and make a photo wall in the hallway with pictures of her husband and grandchildren.

As I read this verse this morning, I realized that I probably could have been more supportive by being more of a quiet presence in her grief.  I wish I had seen this before going;  perhaps I would have been more of a comfort to her.  I had good intentions but I see now that all of my “doing” was probably not what was best for her grief.

P~  Dear Lord, please help me grow in this area of comforting those who mourn.  Give me wisdom and discernment to provide what they need most.  I need to develop the habit of being more quiet and still.  Thank you for Your grace.  I pray that my sister in law continues to feel held by Your loving arms. I know You hold each tear and know about every difficult day.  Please infuse wisdom into me in how to continue to give comfort and support to her.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

