August 8, 2017 Esther 3-7; Hebrews 6:4-12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Get In The Game | Kelley Deases

S~ For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this? Esther 4:14 (NIV)

O~ I have had occasion to study the Book of Esther a time or two. I have frequently quoted the last part of this verse when God seems to have positioned me or someone else to accomplish a Kingdom purpose. But this past Sunday, our teaching pastor emphasized the first part of this famous Scripture. Just like Esther, he said we can be a part of what God is doing; but if we refuse, He will use someone else. (As Jesus said, “… if they [the crowd] keep quiet, the stones will cry out [in praise to Him].” Luke 19:40 )

A~ God has uniquely positioned me and gifted me to further His agenda, be that loving students at Cornerstone School, writing grants to benefit Heartland Hope Mission and its clients, witnessing to my neighbors or hosting a ladies’ Bible study. But if I miss these opportunities, whether due to my own self-absorption, lack of boldness or simple laziness, God will accomplish His purposes another way. However, this will cause me to miss out on the tremendous blessing and profound fulfillment that only comes from being “in the game” with God.

P~ Father, All the great testimonies of my life have emerged from times where I have seen You working and chosen to participate in that work. Sitting on the sidelines (for more than a moment to breath or a season to rest) is not really living.

Pray 1st then Act | Deanna George

S~ Go, gather all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night and day. I and my attendants will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go to the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish. Esther 4:16 (NIV)

O~ Pray 1st then act. Ask others to pray too.

A~ Don’t react to a situation. Before I respond, I need to seek God for wisdom, guidance, and support. I also need to ask my prayer warrior friends to intercede to God for me. I am not alone in any situation!

P~ Lord Jesus, please shut my mouth if I try to act first, and you know that I need to seek you first. I want to hear your direction in all situations. Thank you for being willing to help me through anything.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 8, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

