Daily Archives: August 6, 2017

August 6, 2017 Nehemiah 12,13; Psalm 1; Hebrews 4:14-5:10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

How To Be Blessed, Fruitful, and Prosperous | Kim Chipman

S~ Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers, but whose delight is in the law of the Lordand who meditates on his law day and night. That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither—whatever they do prospers. Psalm 1:1-3 (NIV)

O~ I want to be blessed, fruitful, and prosperous. I want my life to count in the kingdom. This is kind of a “how-to” for that to be reality in my life.

A~ Last weekend I went camping with some great friends. One of the days we were there we went tubing down the Niobrara river. We noticed that there were many trees along the banks that looked completely healthy and strong, but the earth underneath had been eroded away by the flow of the water. The roots of most of the tree just dangled, but it didn’t fall and the leaves were green and healthy.

Sometimes life circumstances erode the ground right out from under me. There are so very many things that vie for my energy and attention that I’m often left exhausted. I need to remember that the “how-to” for remaining strong, healthy, and fruitful is to be careful about the company I keep and to delight in Your Word and meditate on it day and night. My thoughts are powerful. I need to keep them focused!

P~ Lord, help me to remain in You throughout my day, not just in this precious quiet time. I have been less focused lately and I feel it. Thank You for this reminder. I love You!

In season | Nikki Metzger

S~ He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither.  Whatever he does prospers. Psalm 1:3 (NIV)

O/A~ I’ve prayed this over my kids a thousand times.  Lord, let my kids choose You, pursue You, comprehend Your great love for them.  And then live in a way that shows what their heart beats for.

Last night I saw the name and number of the leader who took one of my kids to church camp come up on my phone.  Honestly, my gut clenched because I thought there was an injury.  Instead, I heard the voice of my kiddo who called to tell me that they are getting baptized!

And the angels sang!

Jesus answers our prayers!  Even when they don’t happen in my timing.

P~ Father, thank You!  Thank You for putting other adults into my child’s life who love You, who point to You, who love my kids.  Father, let this child not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers.  Let their delight be in Your Word, let them meditate on it day and night.  Let them be like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither.  Lord, I also pray this for my other child who is still searching.  Teach me to encourage and grow this precious faith in my kids!  You are amazing!  Thank You for answering this prayer!

God understands, really He does | Trisha Baker

S~ This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses, for he faced all the same testings we do, yet he did not sin. So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most. Hebrews 4:15-16 (NLT)

O~ Jesus came to this earth in the flesh as a man, and he went through all the frustrations that we as people go through today. He got angry, he got hungry, and he was tempted to take what did not belong to him. But through the time he spent with God and that he was God in flesh, he was able to not give into the temptation and continue to always do the right thing. Because of this, he understands all the struggles of this life, and He will always give us the grace to get through those things when we ask for it.

A~ So many times in my life, I have found myself in a horrible situation. I usually look around at my situation and wonder how I got there. It is very easy to blame my situation on other people and things, but if I am honest with myself, I am in that situation because I have tried to fix something without the help of God. I often forget that there is nothing in this life I can go through that Jesus himself has not already gone through. But unlike me, he was able to not give into the temptation and through the power of God, He was able to always make the right choice. Every day I am learning more and more, that if I just stop trying to fix it, and rather take it to Him, that He will fix. And in those moments, I am amazed by what He does for me. I am learning more and more everyday how generous He is with His grace. He will give it to us as much as we need it. These last couple weeks have been very trying for me, and so many times I have wanted to lash out at people but I continue to hear his small, still voice asking me to just step back and let Him fix it. I am learning more and more to listen to that voice and to step back. His grace is sufficient, and we have to remember that He really does understand and we can talk to Him about anything.

P~ Father God, help me to remember on a daily basis, that You got this! There is nothing in this life that I can go through, that you don’t understand the temptation I am going through. Help me to always remember to look to you first before I attempt to fix my situation. I also thank you for your grace and mercy and that no matter what I do in my life, it is always there for me. I love you so much Daddy Jesus and for always getting my situation when I don’t. In your Precious Name, Amen.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com