July 29, 2017 Ezra 5,6; Psalm 138; Titus 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

In the Midst of Trouble | Kelley Deases

S~  When I called, you answered me; you made me bold and stouthearted. … Though I walk in the midst of trouble, you preserve my life; … Psalm 138:3,7a (NIV)

O~ I have been called strong.  To my parents, I am the confident and over-achieving firstborn.  To my husband, I am able to keep the household, the meals, the schedule, and the finances running with ease.  To my kids, I am up to the task, whether that is homework help, late-night fevers (isn’t that when it always happens?), skinned knees, or broken hearts.  To my girlfriends, I am the social butterfly who is comfortable in my own skin.  So often, though, in the quiet and the dark, I don’t feel strong at all.  Some days I feel ill-equipped just to make it through the day.

David’s heartcry in Psalm 138 reminds me I don’t have to be strong because God is.  When I call, He meets me and assures me, “There, there, my beloved.  You do not have to have it all together. Just go in the direction I am going.  I will give you what you need to accomplish what I have called you to do.”  He will make me bold and stouthearted (defined as “brave and resolute; dauntless”).

A~  The last couple days have weighed heavy.  As David put it, “I walk in the midst of trouble.”  Friends of ours, a family, is experiencing wave upon wave of chaos and pain.  Last night, as prayer partner at kids’ church, I actually had kids lining up to share their heart hurts.  And by the end of the evening, my heart hurt, too.  Also my husband is sick, which puts a little more weight on my shoulders with all we have going on right now.  But I observe, along with David, that the Lord has preserved my life.  So as long as I am still on this side of heaven, there is more for me to do and to endure.  More aptly, there is more He can do through me when I offer up a willing heart.

P~ Abba Father, You know better than me how this world can be a hard, harsh place.  Jesus endured infinitely worse than my worst day.  But just as You had a purpose and a plan behind Your Son’s suffering, I believe You can use mine.  If my heart remains tender and raw, if I acknowledge how weak and powerless I really am, You can use me even as I walk in the midst of trouble.

His Overcoming Strength | Tara Wiley

S~ When I called, you answered me; You greatly emboldened me. Psalm 138:3

O~ On the day I called, You answered me; and You made me bold and confident with renewed strength in my life. AMP

You answered me when I called to you; with Your strength You strengthened me. GNB

In the day when I cried thou answered me, and strengthened me with strength in my soul. KJV

Using BlueLetterBible.org, I followed the ‘tools’ link to the interlinear study, which shows the Hebrew words for each translated word/phrase.

Strengthened me: Hebrew rahab: to make bold, sure, overcome. (“Your eyes have overcome (rahab) me.” Song of Solomon 6:5). It’s a passion that overcomes and compels.

With strength: oz: can be applied to every area (material, physical, personal, social, political). Power, might, boldness, praise (“And David danced with all his might (oz) before the Lord…2 Sam 6:14).

In my soul: nephesh: life, substance. Seat of the appetites, emotions, passions, activity of the mind, will and character.

A~ Tara’s paraphrase, based on the Hebrew definitions and cross references above: You answered me when I called to You, and You passionately overcame me, empowering and emboldening me to have the strength to praise You with all I am – to be strong in the very core of my will, emotions, appetites; to be strong in the way I think and in the motivating character behind my actions.

P~ Lord, if I just believe You for this one verse, what power I have available to overcome the strongholds in my life! My victory lies in being passionately overcome by You. Overcome me, Lord! Consume me with Your passion, so that my sinful passions and temptations lose their grip in the overshadowing power of Your strength in my soul. Lord, I believe; help me overcome my unbelief!

Pruning Leads to Purpose | Deanna George

S~ The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me; your love, O Lord, endures forever – do not abandon the works of your hands. Psalm 138:8 (NIV)

O~ The Lord has a purpose for me. Am I allowing him to fulfill it?

A~ Your love for me is beyond my comprehension. I know that I do not always honor it with my tongue, action, or emotions. I am sorry for that! The lapse in judgment, no matter small or large, can get in the way of your work in my heart and mind. I appreciate you not giving up on me. I may not enjoy the pruning it takes for me to grow so that your purpose may take holding my life, but I feel closer to you during it and after. For that I am grateful! Please keep working on me, even if I complain, grumble, or whine. I need it!

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for reminding me that sometimes the only sweetness of going through trials is feeling your presence in my life. Your presence may be shown in small ways, but they are saying “I’m here with you.” Thank you for making last year a focus on “awestruck” moments of seeing your presence in my everyday life. It has allowed my heart to be more open to your presence and the opportunity to learn from whatever I am going through. It has allowed me to change my focus from:

“Why me?”

“This isn’t fair.”

And my go to, “It’s so and so fault.”

To:

“How am I supposed to deal with this?”

“What can I learn from this?”

“What is my hand in this situation?”

You, Lord, have work to do in me so that I may fulfill my purpose. I feel like my purpose is a secret from me, but I believe in your knowledge and plan for my life. Lead me, teach me, and grow me in whatever way is necessary. I am 100% yours.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 29, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

