July 26, 2017 Ezra 1; Psalm 84,85; 2 Timothy 3:10-4:8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Miss You Much | Kim Chipman

S~ My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the Lord; my heart and my flesh cry out for the living God. Psalm 84:2 (NIV)

O~ I love the emotion expressed in the Psalms. It helps me to feel less weird or crazy!

A~ This is how I feel right now. My soul feels empty, depleted, distant from You. My soul yearns to be with You.

This point in the summer I feel like things are coming to a head for me. I am, by nature, an early riser. I also love routine. I function best on a schedule. I have, however, a house full of teenagers who are having fun with friends and football and dance and gymnastics and pool and food and basketball and, and, and…this summer. There is nothing that looks like routine or schedule. I drive all the time, everywhere, every day. I love it! But the combination of picking up kids late, getting up early, and running around like a chicken with my head cut of has left me sleep deprived and it’s catching up with me.

The other thing is that I’ve gotten serious about exercise. I love how I feel when I take good care of my body. It does take time, though.

These 2 things mashed together have really messed with my quiet time mojo – and it has hit critical mass I think. I NEED daily, unrushed time with You so I can hear You. I haven’t been getting it like I need it. I’m really feeling it.

My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the Lordmy heart and my flesh cry out for the living God.

P~ Father, help! Help me figure out how to do all these things well. I need You! Help me to remain focused and diligent and get the big important things in even when my life is chaotic. I love You and miss You!

He Promises Peace | Kelley Deases

S~ O Lord Almighty, blessed is the man who trusts in you. I will listen to what God the Lord will say; he promises peace to his people, his saints — but let them not return to folly. Psalm 84:12 and 85:8 (NIV)

O~ Moving is inherently stressful. That seems to be the consensus among everyone I know, according to my informal polling. But to the extent I have left my comfortable routine in my comfortable home to embark on this journey, God is teaching me and growing my faith in unexpected ways.

A~ Yesterday we faced a hiccup in the process of selling our house which we feared could have derailed the whole move right in the middle of it. I went to bed discouraged, fearful, anxious and emotionally weary. But God woke me a few hours later, in the wee hours of the morning, with what could only have been His still,small voice, one I had been neglecting to listen to in our busy, busy days. Most times, when I wake in the middle of the night, my mind races with schedules and to-do’s and anxious thoughts, which can all seem daunting and overwhelming in the dark. But this day at 3 a.m., God whispered peace to my heart as He reassured me of His love for me and how He only wants the best for me. If our planned move fell  apart, then He would provide; if we move on to another house, He will be there as well. I got up a few hours later content to accept whichever answer we received, knowing everything passes through God’s hands. It truly is a blessing to be able to trust Him completely with my life and my future.

P~ Father, Thank You for speaking peace into my self-created chaos. I love how You so gently reveal the very part of Your character I most need to experience at just the right moment.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 26, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

