July 25, 2017 2 Kings 24,25; 2 Chronicles 36; 2 Timothy 2:20-3:9

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

100% to One Thing | Kimi Miller

S~ The Lord, the God of their ancestors, repeatedly sent his prophets to warn them, for he had compassion on his people and his temple.  2 Chronicles 36:15 (NLT)

O~ When the people had become unfaithful and began following pagan practices, God continually sent them messages through his prophets.  He did this because He had compassion on them.  He wanted them to live a full and rich life.  Not one that is lessened and made cheap by false gods, but life to the fullest.  His greatest desire was – and still is – to be their – our – God.  And for us to be His people.

A~ Am I continually seeking God?  Or am I shrugging off His call and warnings because I think I know better?  Or maybe it’s not even so much that I think I know better, but that I am distracted.  Could it be that my life is so full of distractions – too much on my to do list and not enough time – too many activities and not enough rest – that I fail to see His messages or recognize His messengers?

So, how do I slow down?  I need to start by humbling myself before God. Bowing low before Him, I must turn everything over to Him.  I can’t be great at everything. I can only give 100% to One Thing.  If I give everything to God and allow Him to set my priorities, then surely things will begin to work themselves out.

But in order to know what He is saying, I must be able to hear His voice.  I will only recognize His voice by knowing His character.  And I will only know His character by studying His Word.  Daily.

P~ Jesus, Thank You for Your Word.  Thanks for helping me through my day.  I love You. Amen.

Pride and Pleasure | Joni Tyner

S~ They will betray their friends, be reckless, puffed up with pride, and love pleasure rather than God. 2 Timothy 3:4 (NLT)

O~ Paul writing to Timothy in reference to people’s actions in the last days before Christ returns.

A~ Puffed up with pride.  Love pleasure over God.  I want to write about seeing these traits in other people but yet I see myself doing these things.  It’s so easy to think I’m right and understand a situation better than another person or be critical of their actions.   I also tend to buy into the world view that “I deserve it” when it comes to pleasure with material items and self- absorbed activities.

I feel this scripture, like many others,  comes down to a heart issue.  My heart desire is to use my knowledge to encourage others and be helpful.  I always need to ask myself when I am sharing my opinion if there is pride rooted in my response.  I also need to make frequent checks that i don’t become so focused on what I want for me that I neglect the essentials of reading God’s word and being available for other people.  I need to be careful to not overextend myself and become irritable and frustrated with people.

P~ Dear Lord, please help me to have balance in my life with activities so that You are always given glory.  As I learn more about Your Word, help me to share it with others in a humble, uplifting way.  Give me insight when my pride is sneaking into situations.  Thank you for this reminder.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 25, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I haven’t received this for the past couple of days – have I gotten removed from the list?

    >

Leave a Reply

