July 24, 2017 2 Kings 23; 2 Chronicles 35; 2 Timothy 2:8-19

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Unashamed | Marisa Tomlinson

S~ Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved; a worker who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth. 2 Timothy 2:15 (NIV)

O~ We should live as though we are presenting ourselves to God minute by minute. We are covered by grace, yes, but we are also called to live a live we can be unashamed of.

A~ I need to behave differently than non believers. It’s easy to stray from what I should be doing. I am ashamed of how easy it is for me to slide into behaving like others.

P~ Lord, I pray for forgiveness. May nothing separate me from You today. Teach me to choose only Your way today so each step will lead me closer to You. Help me walk by your word and not my feelings. Protect me from my careless thoughts, words, and actions. Let me embrace what comes my way as an opportunity rather than an inconvenience. Help me rest in the truth of Psalm 86:13 “Great is Your love toward me.”

You already know the ways I will fall short and mess up. Right now, I consciously tuck Your whisper of absolute love for me into the deepest part of my heart. I recognize Your love for me is not based on my performance. You love me…shortcomings and all. THAT’S AMAZING

Know when to shut my mouth | Deanna George

S~ Avoid godless chatter, because those who indulge in it will become more and more ungodly. 2 Timothy‬ ‭2‬:‭16‬ (NIV)

O~ Easy to read but sometimes it is hard to do. It is easiest to partake in godless chatter when my eyes are not focused on God’s truth. Distractions in life can overtake my thoughts, actions, and mouth so quickly, but thankfully I can reboot it by refocusing on the truth of who I am in Christ. I know I am not called to gossip. I am not called to correct people of their sins. I am not called to encourage others in their godless talk.

A~ I am called to love others and share God’s love and truth. If I keep this in the forefront of my mind then I will have a hard time partaking in godless chatter. The Holy Spirit gives me a nudge, a tap, or straight out guilt when my mouth goes wayward. Do I listen and stop the chatter? Not always! Boy when I don’t, there is a clean up that is painful. I usually have to say sorry to the person I was talking to AND any people that may have been a part of the conversation but didn’t even know it. I also have to ask God for forgiveness. My goal is to avoid the forgiveness tour and keep my myself out of situations that may encourage chatter that is not right in the eyes of God.

P~ Lord Jesus, this is so easy to fall into, especially when I am facing struggles or when I am down. Please continue to give me the hints that I need to stop the conversation and develop the will power that is needed to do it. It really is easier to walk away then ask for forgiveness, but that doesn’t mean I am always obedient. I want to learn to be obedient right away. I know that is a tall order, but with your guidance I believe it is attainable.

Negativity on Social Media | Joni Tyner

S~ Avoid worthless, foolish talk that only leads to more godless behavior. 2 Timothy 2:16 (NLT)

O~ Paul is instructing Timothy, the pastor of the Ephesus church to be careful to not engage in lengthy discussions over using certain words or theories that are not central to the Christian faith and life.

(this is coming from the notes in my NLT Bible.)

A~ My Bible notes say that we should be careful, as believers not to argue and carry on about the nonessentials of the Christian faith.  It states that this division flames anger and does nothing to build the Kingdom.  I couldn’t agree more.  Why, for goodness sake, would a Christ follower spend ridiculous amounts of time on social media “beating” up other Christians over topics that often aren’t even in the Bible?   I think this is what this passage is referring to.  Mean, judgmental remarks that nonbelievers read and see do NOTHING to build up the Kingdom.  Yes, I may disagree with a particular leader on their view of a specific interpretation of a scripture, but, that doesn’t invalidate their ministry.   They may have possibly led 1,000’s of people to the Lord and changed their final destination. –I think that detail is waaaaay more important that their view of prayer, or how the Holy Spirit speaks to them.

P~ Dear Lord, I want to pray for so many Christian leaders that have dedicated their lives to serving You and bringing as many people as possible into the Kingdom.  Give them discernment as they read the Bible, give them wisdom and I pray their ministries are blessed by You.  I pray that I would have boldness and courage to remember this scripture when I hear talk that is distracting people from the salvation message.  Thank you for this remember to focus on the essentials, Love you and love other people.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 24, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

