Daily Archives: July 23, 2017

July 23, 2017 2 Kings 22; 2 Chronicles 34; 2 Timothy 1:15-2:7

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Humble and Responsive Heart | Kim Chipman

S~ When the king heard the words of the Book of the Law, he tore his robes. 2 Kings 22:11 (NIV)

O~ Josiah is King. He follows the Lord. The Book of the Law was found, and read to him while he was King. He was grieved to realize just how far the nation of Israel had strayed away from it. He was trying to follow the Lord, but until he read the Word he didn’t even realize how sinful they were. Josiah was genuinely repentant. The Lord was intending harsh consequences, but “because your heart was responsive and you humbled yourself before the Lord” You heard and did not bring the disastrous consequences.

A~ I need to maintain a heart like Josiah: humble and responsive. I need to choose genuine repentance when I read Your Word and see that I am not being obedient. I also need to actually READ Your Word regularly so I know what I’m aiming at. It is REALLY easy to fool myself about myself.

P~ Lord help me! I can’t do this without You!

For my kids | Nikki Metzger

S~ During the eighth year of his reign, while he was still young, Josiah began to seek the God of his ancestor David.  Then in the twelfth year he began to purify Judah and Jerusalem, destroying all the pagan shrines, the Asherah poles, and the carved idols and cast images. 2 Chronicles 34:3 (NLT)

O~ Josiah, king of Judah started this job at 8 years old!  When he was 16, he started seeking God.  And when he was 20, he starting to purify.  Purify…taking idols down and destroying them, for himself and God’s people.

A~ This is a message for my kids:

Guys, I see two things in the verse.  Josiah was young!  But that didn’t matter to him or to God!  It started with Josiah seeking.  Seek the Lord my children.  He will direct your path!

Secondly, I see time.  Josiah didn’t all of a sudden become this awesome God loving king.  It took time!  First, Josiah sought after God.  Then Josiah began purifying Judah.

In that time, God was changing Josiah’s heart.  Give God time to change yours, make you more like Jesus.  If God changed us overnight, we would be dead from the radical heart change He does inside of us.

So…always seek Him and don’t stop.  His beautifying and glorious work takes time too!  I love you guys to the moon and back times 40 million!

P~ Thank You Lord for my kids!  God, I beg You for their hearts!  Let them know You, encourage them to seek You!  Father please, knock down their idols!  I love You!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

