Daily Archives: July 22, 2017

July 22, 2017 2 Kings 20,21; 2 Chronicles 33; 2 Timothy 1:1-14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Holy Living | Joni Tyner

S~ For God saved us and called us to live a holy life. He did this, not because we deserved it, but because that was his plan from before the beginning of time—to show us grace through Christ Jesus. 2 Timothy 1:9 (NLT)

O~ Paul is in prison and realizes he will soon be executed. He is writing to Timothy to encourage him and remind him of the essentials of the Faith.

A~ I know I’ve read this before because I had it underlined in my Bible.  It struck me today because of the background of when Paul was writing it.  He was in chains in prison for proclaiming the gospel—yet, YET… he is acknowledging that God “called him to live a holy life”.   He says that this was “His plan from before the beginning of time” and that he was “shown grace through Christ Jesus.”

I’m just struck by the humility of this scripture.  Things were not going well for Paul, yet he considers his life to be God’s plan.  He sees grace in his circumstances ( getting less than what is deserved) and he is challenging himself to live a holy life in that jail cell.

WOW.

P~ Dear Lord, I have believed for a while that You have chosen me for a specific purpose, please help me to embrace what that is.  I always have thought it would be big and great and fun and…this scripture is reminding me that Your plan for my life might end up looking very different than what I think it should be.  This scripture is very clear that I’ve first been called to live a holy life.   I want to take this seriously!!!!  I feel the culture shift of seeing Christians living the exact opposite of that ( more and more drinking,  profanity, questionable lifestyles.)  I don’t want to do what is “in”  the culture but to please You.  I believe this is to ask for Your Holy Spirit to help me strive for more Holy living.  Thank you for grace when I mess up.  I love You.

I Know and Trust | Kim Chipman

S~ That is why I am suffering as I am. Yet this is no cause for shame,because I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him until that day. 2 Timothy 1:12 (NIV)

O~ Because Paul was appointed a teacher of the gospel, he endured suffering, but he trusted that God knew His heart.

A~ Sometimes life is just hard. Really hard. I find that the more serious and focused I become on pursuing You and living like You and for You there is opposition and temptation right there to pull me away.

I also need the discernment to surround myself with people in my life that help push me toward You. I had lunch with one of my besties yesterday and I was reminded of how very much I need my people. She helps me remember what it is I believe and that I can trust You. She reminds me of Your character and my identity in You. I know what I have believed and she helps me remember. Even when it’s hard and unfair. I really am convinced that You are able to guard what I have entrusted to You. I can press forward. You are worthy!

P~ Thank you for Your Spirit within me and friends around me to encourage me to live with power, love and self control. Thank You for the reminder that suffering is part of living out the gospel, but it is worth it…I can trust You! I love You

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

