Daily Archives: July 21, 2017

July 21, 2017 2 Kings 18,19; 2 Chronicles 32; 1 Timothy 6:11-21

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Called to Action | Deanna George

S~ But you, man of God, flee from all this, and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance, and gentleness. Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses. 1 Timothy 6:11-12 (NIV)

O~ God is calling us to action – flee, pursue, fight, take hold. No sitting and waiting for things of God to come to me.

A~ Get up and get moving! This does not just relate to my physical body dealing with everyday tasks, volunteer work, or taking care of my body, but to my mind as well. Flee from the ugly, negative thoughts that try to take over my mind. Pursue the Bible and claim who God has created me to be (he creates nothing ugly or undesirable). Fight the devil and his plans to wreck havoc in my life. Take hold of God’s love and let that be the source of my strength, comfort, and guidance. I can’t win a race, a basketball game, or a music competition without actively pursuing greatness. The same goes for my walk with God. I need to pursue God consistently and faithfully.

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for the hint that I need to be an active participant in my relationship with you. I can’t just sit and hope. I need to pray. I need to claim authority over anyone or anything that may trying to take over my mind and corrupting it with negative thoughts or lies. I know in the midst of a battle this can be hard, but I am claiming this call to action. I am claiming your desire for me to be active instead of just taking what the devil or my enemies dish out to me. Thank you for this excitement that is stirring in me.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

