Daily Archives: July 20, 2017

July 20, 2017 2 Chronicles 29-31; 1 Timothy 6:1-10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

I’m going to get laughed at…..and it will be ok! | Nikki Metzger

S~ The runners went from town to town throughout Ephraim and Manasseh and as far as the territory of Zubulan.  But most of the people just laughed at the runners and made fun of them.  However, some people…humbled themselves and went to Jerusalem. 2 Chronicles 30:10, 11 (NLT)

O~ These runners had news.  The country was going to celebrate Passover late.  The new king was bringing the Lord back into the daily life of the people after His absence.  Those runner messengers didn’t encounter great excitement and joy with the message they brought.  They got laughed at and made fun of.

A~ You’re telling me….putting people in my life about this life saving truth of Jesus Christ.  I feel this next step of spreading the fame of Jesus.  Like a revival is coming and I get to be a part of it.  I’m scared to death.  Ill-equipped, never really shared the gospel outside of the church setting.  God….what?!?!  But Lord, I just want You most!  And to be a part of gathering Your people back to You!

OK!  I’m in!

I hear You say that I’m going to be made fun of and people will laugh at me.  That’s ok, I trust You!

P~ Father, thank You!  Get me over myself!  Give me a disregard for reputation!  Thank You for this heart prep!  I LOVE YOU!

Smash the Asherah Poles! | Kim Chipman

S~ When the festival ended, the Israelites who attended went to all the towns of Judah, Benjamin, Ephraim, and Manasseh, and they smashed all the sacred pillars, cut down the Asherah poles, and removed the pagan shrines and altars. After this, the Israelites returned to their own towns and homes. 2 Chronicles 31:1 (NLT)

O~ King Hezekiah ruled in Judah. He did what was pleasing in the Lord’s sight. He reopened and repaired the Temple, held Passover, and when the festival ended he destroyed the places for idol worship.

A~ King Hezekiah is my hero. He redirected Judah to worship You as they should have been – he purified the Levites and priests, then reopened the Temple. He led them to the ONE thing that was most important – focus on worshiping You AND removing temptation to worship other things. The Israelites were constantly falling into worship of idols. My study Bible says “they put aside worshiping the Creator in order to worship the creation”.

I know I do this. Just like the Asherah poles eventually lured the Israelites back, choosing incomplete obedience in one area can be a slippery slope in other areas. Justifying partial obedience does not ensure Your best in my life. Just as King Hezekiah smashed the sacred pillars, I need to do the same in my heart. Help me to see things in my life that are coming before pure worship of You. Help me to be humble and receptive to see where I’m off track and need redirection.

P~ I need You. I’m easily distracted and prideful on my own. I love You, but I’m selfish and lose focus. Help me to see the sacred pillars in my life and smash them once and for all. I love You.

Enough is ENOUGH!! | Joni Tyner

S~ Yet true godliness with contentment is itself great wealth… So, if I have enough food and clothing, let us be content.  1 Timothy 6:6, 8 (NLT)

O~ Great wealth. We have much!! Our “wealth” comes from contentment in the things we already have. It comes from seeking God .  Discovering His mystery.  God rewards us when we are content and when we seek Him. Enough is enough!! We don’t always need more. We don’t need more food, more clothes, more stuff, gadgets, accessories, just fill in the blank with what our selfish desires crave.  The question is, “what is enough?”  We need to intentionally make a decision that what we have is enough and hold firm to that. This is so tough in a world that constantly bombards us with commercials and advertisements that tell us to be successful and happy we need more stuff.

A~ I need to remind myself daily that what I have is enough.  I’ve been blessed with a family, a nice home, a good job.  Enough.  This a word I need to embrace; it will give me blessings if I live it out with intention and sincerity.

P~ Dear Lord, Thank you for your abundance in my life. It is so much more than I deserve!  I need Your Holy Spirit to fill me with contentment; then I will overflow with a heart of gratitude and thanksgiving.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

