Daily Archives: July 17, 2017

July 17, 2017 2 Kings 13,14; 2 Chronicles 25; 1 Timothy 4:11-5:2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Seeking a New Assignment | Joni Tyner

S~ Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity.  Until I get there, focus on reading the Scriptures to the church, encouraging the believers, and teaching them.  1 Timothy 4:12-13 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to Timothy, my Bible notes say that Timothy needed encouragement to keep doing the work God had called him to do.

A~ As I was reading this scripture this morning, I almost felt like Paul was sitting down with me and telling me to keep doing the things I know God wants me to do, that something new is coming around the bend, but, until then, I need to keep working on being a person of integrity in every area of my life.  This includes my work, my free time, how I treat people,  and my personal commitment to striving to live a lifestyle that reflects more and more of what Jesus looks like.  I know I am more consistent with living this way when I regularly read the Bible and do journaling.  This discipline needs to stay a priority before I do anything else!!!

P~ Lord, I pray for Your Holy Spirit to continue to pour into my heart and give me a passion for the things of the Kingdom.  I pray for margin and energy to be a doer of Your work.  I ask for clear vision of what to say Yes to.  I want to do this assignment with excellence, joy, enthusiasm, and genuine love.  I ask for clear signs to know where You want me to be.  I pray for continued hunger to be in Your Word and to gain understanding of scripture.  I also pray for protection over my family as I seek to serve You in a deeper way.  I pray their hearts are guarded from the Enemy’s attack.  I love You Jesus.

Watch it! | Kim Chipman

S~ Watch your life and doctrine closely. Persevere in them, because if you do, you will save both yourself and your hearers. 1 Timothy 4:16 (NIV)

O~ Proverbs 4:23 Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.

Matthew 24:11 many false prophets will appear and deceive many people.

Matthew 24:24 For false messiahs and false prophets will appear and perform great signs and wonders to deceive, if possible, even the elect.

A~ My husband was recently talking about a preacher he likes to watch on TV. Some people don’t care for him. I got to thinking about how great it is that we have people who preach, teach and inspire, but they are no replacement for following hard after You and pursuing Your truth for ourselves. It’s easy to fall into following people, even really awesome godly people. But they are still just people.

I need to watch my life – so I don’t just know what Your Word says, but I really DO it. Live it out.

I need to watch my doctrine – so I don’t follow or worship a teacher, but YOU. Filter everything through Your Word directly.

I need to persevere – so I finish well and impact others. I see areas of my life that I have given up. I’m not persevering.

P~ Lord, help me to use Your Word as absolute truth. Help me to guard my heart and mind. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

