July 16, 2017 2 Kings 11,12; 2 Chronicles 24; 1 Timothy 3:14-4:10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Train Everyday | Deanna George

S~ Have nothing to do with godless myths and old wives tales, rather, train yourself to be godly. I Timothy 4:7 (NIV)

O~ It takes training to be godly.

A~ Like everything else in my life, I must train my heart and mind to be godly. It does not just happen. I need to dive into the word of God. I need to apply it to my everyday life. I need to accept God’s prompting to change my heart in whatever area of my life that needs it. I need to keep God in the forefront of my mind. Through SOAP, I have really learned the value of being in God’s word. He helps me in the little things and carries me during the really hard struggles. The key for me ~ to be open and intentional during my time with God ~ choose to make God a priority. It’s not always easy, but it is part of my training to be godly. This training makes me stronger in my relationship with him, provides me encouragement to face my day, and makes him my coach for this life. There are days when training hurts, but the benefits are noticeable and worth it.

P~ Lord Jesus, I’m sorry that my training to know you can be like my physical training of my body. When I am in the habit of working out, it is easy to continue to do it everyday, but man o man when I get off track for 2-3 days then it’s so hard to get back on. I am sorry when I lapse in my training. I hate how I let my guilt of missing a day, two or week hinder me from starting back up. My heart knows it’s good for me, but my mind comes up with excuses. Please forgive me when I allow my mind to overpower my training. Thank you for welcoming me back and picking up the training when I lapse in my training schedule. Thank you for training me to be more like you. Thank you for forgiving me. Thank you for prompting me to come sit at your feet when I veer off the path of my training. I am truly grateful for your willingness to train me to be more godly.

First Things First | Kelley Deases

S~ For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.  I Timothy 4:8 (NIV)

O~  Did I hone in on this verse to justify not doing my Jillian Michaels workout today?  Probably.  But really I think the point Paul is making to Timothy — and this theme is repeated throughout Scripture — is to get our priorities in order.  Exercise is certainly a good thing; exercising our spiritual disciplines of reading The Word, praying, fasting, and serving is the better thing.  This is reminiscent of Jesus telling Martha she was distracted by many things as she scurried about preparing her home and food for Jesus, while Mary had chosen the better thing by sitting at His feet.  I don’t think Jesus was saying we should neglect the upkeep of our home or not to make preparations for a guest, but simply to remember to put first things first.

A~ I had gotten into a routine a while back in which the first thing I would do each day was my exercise.  Then my day would get underway and I would try to squeeze in some time with Jesus at some later point… which usually did not happen.  Since I know that my best time of the day is first thing in the morning and I am afforded a block of undisturbed time before my son wakes up and my husband gets home, I know, for me, God wants me to bring my “first fruits” first thing.  Not try to squeeze it in between my other to-do’s.  In the sage words of author and speaker Lysa TerKeurst, “I must exchange whispers with God before shouts with the world.”

P~ Father, With so many things — even good things — vying for my time and attention, help me to breathe in Your Spirit and choose those things which have eternal value.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 16, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

