Daily Archives: July 12, 2017

July 12, 2017 2 Kings 4,5; Psalm 83; 1 Timothy 1:1-11

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Hospitality | Joni Tyner

S~ Let’s build a small room for him on the roof and furnish it with a bed, a table, a chair, and a lamp. Then he will have a place to stay whenever he comes by. 2 Kings 4:10 (NLT)

O~ The Shunem woman had Elisha over to her house for a meal on several occasions.  She and her husband decided to extend the hospitality and provide a room for him whenever he was passing through their town.

A~ We’ve had out of town family members visiting us this past week.  I’ve enjoyed it all!   We enjoyed visiting the zoo, a Stormchaser game, and neighborhood parks and swimming pools.  I think my personality has a natural bend to care for people in this manner and I’m so thankful I listened to the prompting of the Holy Spirit to embrace this week with energy and enthusiasm.  We made wonderful memories with our nephew and his 2 young daughters.  It was so precious. 🙂

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for the opportunity to spend time with family this past week.  Please forgive my moments of selfishness and worry as I fretted about a clean house or what the grocery bill was.  It seems silly to worry about that stuff now that they have left.  I pray you will give me a clear vision for strangers and friends alike who might need hospitality.   Please give me discernment to remember it is the PEOPLE and not the food/stuff that is important.  I pray people feel Your presence whenever they come into our home.  Thank you for such a great week.  I love You.

My third child | Nikki Metzger

S~ But Naaman went away angry and said, “I thought that he would surely come out to me and stand and call on the name of the Lord his God, wave his hand over the spot and cure me of my leprosy. 2 Kings 5:11 (NIV)

O~ This is the account of the Lord healing Naaman.  At first, Naaman was angry that God didn’t heal him the way that he thought He should.

A~ Oh, Naaman!  I get your anger! For years I was angry at God for not letting me get pregnant with our third child.  I thought that I would get pregnant and it would be a miracle and my story would be that God gave us our third baby.  I wanted, almost demanded of God that I would point to our third kid and say, ‘this is God’s faithfulness.’

But that’s not my story.  I am the mama of two kids.  And for a long time I was very mad at God because of this.

The time frame that I would have liked to add a third child to the mix was when God was working big, impossible miracles in my stubborn, hardened heart and mind.  It was in this time that He taught me that He wanted a true relationship with me, not just an hour on Sundays.  He also taught me that the facade of ‘having-it-all-together’ doesn’t really work if I wanted a full and real life.  And most importantly, He rooted me with women who were walking the same path as I was and we could sit in a coffee shop and pray about our fears, our mess ups, our families, our spouses, our church and He showed up in those prayers!

I would have missed all of that with baby #3.  So despite all of my anger of not having a third child, God’s plans were better than my own!

P~ Father, thank You for time and perspective on my anger and letting me hear Naaman’s story!  Thank You for never stopping the pursuit of my heart! And thank You for my new nephew who brings me such joy and delight AND I still get to have all my sleep!  I love You!

Meaningful Talk | Kelley Deases

S~ Some have wandered away from these and turned to meaningless talk. 1 Timothy 1:6 (NIV)

O~ Paul is telling Timothy to remain in Ephesus and speak out against those spewing false doctrine, so the believers may be united in “love, which comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith.” (v. 5)

A~ The other night, several of us from the Discover One Thing blog team met for a potluck, fellowship, check in and prayer. Of the six of us who were able to attend, four currently lead Bible study groups of women in our homes. A concern which was raised by one leader was how her ladies can tend to get off topic and want to chitchat about all manner of other things besides God’s Word. I told her what I have done, and continue to do, in my group which has been extremely effective. We begin each session by reading from the daily reading plan, or at least a part of it. Then I ask each person, “What verse stands out for you? What do you think God is trying to say to you from that verse?” This results in nearly everyone participating and sharing what is going on in her life, but through the lens of Scripture. It’s not that personal stuff is disallowed; we simply don’t want to be a mere coffee klatch or a social club. We want to grow and refine one another around God’s truth.

P~  Father, Keep us as individuals and in our groups close to Your heart and attuned to what You want to say to us. For Your thoughts and Your ways are higher and greater than our own.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

