Daily Archives: July 11, 2017

July 11, 2017 2 Kings 1-3; Psalm 82; 2 Thessalonians 3:6-18

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Digging ditches | Nikki Metzger

S~ …and he said, “This is what the Lord says: Make this valley full of ditches. 2 Kings 3:16 (NIV)

O~ I love this account of how God defeats an enemy.  It doesn’t make sense at all – dig ditches and they will fill up with water, but it won’t rain.  What?!?  My God is amazing!

A~ I’m getting ready to leave for a five day camp with some other adults and a whole lot of high schoolers.  It’s an amazing gathering and teaching for high schoolers, but it’s exhausting!  It’s late, late nights and early, early mornings.

For this gal who is trying to get 8-10 hours of a sleep a night to heal her body, it’s going to be tough.  Tough, like digging ditches in a dry desert.  I’m sure those soldiers who were told to dig ditches in this story were done, just done. They had just spent the previous week wandering the desert, they ran out of water, were waiting for the enemy to come up on them, and then they were told to dig ditches.  And these guys were soldiers – they probably didn’t even have a shovel.  They used their body, their hands, their cloaks to make these ditches.  Exhausting. Wearing. Depleting. Frustrating. Crazy!

I will probably experience all of those feelings this week at camp.  But I know the end of the digging ditches story and I know the end of God’s story: VICTORY!

P~ Father, thank You in advance that this week of camp will be victorious for You and Your Kingdom!  Coming off this week from work was a bit like wandering in the desert, and I’m feeling attacked with my thoughts and things happening at home.  I know this week at camp will be the precious and holy work of digging ditches, but I am really needing your strength to do it!  Father, pour Your Spirit over us as we take these students to camp!  Let us be thankful for the heat, and exercise, and exhaustion because we know that You are going to be victorious through it!  I love You!

Work Hard | Deanna George

S~ And as for you, brothers, never tire of doing what is right. 2 Thessalonians 3:13 (NIV)

O~ Work hard. Do what is right. Do not get tired of doing my part in God’s plan, even if no one notices or cares.

A~ God does not want me idle. He wants me to be an active, hard worker. Sometimes my mind starts to go down the road of questioning why I do it. “Why bother? It’s doesn’t seem to be making an impact. Does anyone even notice what I’m doing? What am I getting out of it?” All these questions take the focus off God and his master plan and say that I should be the reason. I don’t need to know the reason for choosing to do what is right and good. I just need to know that is what God expects of me. That alone should be my motivation and therefore I should never tire of doing it. I need to stop thinking about other’s opinions and seek God for his direction of what I need to be working on.

P~ Lord Jesus, I don’t want to get in the habit of saying yes because you want me to work hard. I want to get in the habit of working hard in the areas you want me to work. I want your guidance of where to work and what to say yes to. If I am doing your will, then I know I will not get tired of doing it. I find myself getting tired when I just say yes because some one asked me. Please continue to reveal to me when I need to step up my game and when I need to say no. Thank you for placing desires on my heart. Thank you for your scriptures that point me in the direction I need to go. Thank you for meeting me where I am at when I seek your Word. There have been times when I feel like your guidance has been delivered on a neon sign, and there have been times when it’s one line in scripture that you pointed out during my SOAP time. I easily see the neon sign, but I need help to see the subtle guidance you send my way. I am opening up my heart and mind to your guidance.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

