July 6, 2017 1 Kings 15; 2 Chronicles 13,14; 1 Thessalonians 4:13-5:11

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Maacah who? | Nikki Metzger

S~ He (Abijam) reigned in Jerusalem three years.  His mother was Maacah, the daughter of Absalom.  ~1 Kings 15:2 (NLT)

He (Asa) reigned in Jerusalem forty-one years.  His grandmother was Maacah, the daughter of Absalom. ~1 Kings 15:10 (NLT)

O~ Who is Maacah?  Well, the Maacah in these verses was named after her grandma Maacah; the daughter of a king from another land (from 1 Chronicles 3:2).

A~ I don’t know much about either of the Maacah’s, but they came from royalty.  The second Maacah lost her royal position because she worshipped other things besides the Lord.

It just blows my mind the influence this woman had in those times.  Influence to four (4!) generations.  That’s a lot of influence for one person.  I personally think that Maacah’s influence was negative – it lead her family away from Christ.

I see that I’m an influencer on my family and truly generations to come.

So –  it’s not just me living my life for myself – trying to figure out what God has for me.  While I’m doing that, something comes out of that that impacts generations.  Positive or negative.

P~ Father, please do not let Cody and Tasha and their future generations follow the advice of the wicked, or stand around with sinners or join in with mockers.  Let them ALL delight in the law of the Lord, meditating on it day and night.  Let  ALL of my future generations (Cody and Tasha too) be like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season.  Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do.  Lord, watch over Cody, Tasha, their spouses, their children, their children’s children, their children’s spouses, their kids, and all future generations.  Direct their paths.

Focus | Kim Chipman

S~ For David had done what was right in the eyes of the Lord and had not failed to keep any of the Lord’s commands all the days of his life—except in the case of Uriah the Hittite. 1 Kings 15:5 (NIV)

O~ “except in the case of Uriah the Hittite”…just a little detour for David.

-saw a beautiful (married) woman

-sent messengers to get her for him

-got her pregnant while her husband was away fighting in battle

-tried to cover up his mess

-when that didn’t work he had Uriah’s husband killed, then took her as his own wife.

OK so that was more than just a little slip on a bad day because David was over tired or hungry (which is when I usually blow it). He chose sin over and over again over time in this situation.

A~ There are several things coming together for me today. A couple days ago I journaled on the importance of community in my spiritual journey. Yesterday I journaled on the importance of seeking You intentionally and continually. I’m also reading a book for book club about making goals with a plan so you don’t just drift through life.

When I think of David’s life I see all those things come into play for him…except in the case of Uriah the Hittite.

I see this as my reminder and nudge from You today…

  1. Stay connected to my people for encouragement, sharpening, and redirection. You have gifted me with some amazing sisters in Christ to use on my journey.
  2. Continually seek You. Turn back and repent quickly when I mess up. David could have done that at any time but he continued to sin in order to cover up other sins.
  3. I need goals and a plan because the drift is real and it happens really quickly. I feel like I’ve lost some focus in my heart by being too busy and kind of giving up on some things over the years. It’s never too late to get back on track and get my priorities back in order

P~ Lord, help! I see some things I need to change and I need Your help to do them. Continue to lead and guide me so my life honors You. Help me to live it out. I love You!

“Don’t Believe in God?” | Kelley Deases

S~  So then, let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be alert and controlled.  1 Thessalonians 5:6 (NIV)

O~  A couple lessons stand out to me as I read through this chapter:  (1) We are called to live sober, controlled lives, mindful of Whose we are.  (2) As believers, we possess a great gift and are thus called to a higher standard than those who do not know the truth.  Therefore, we should not compare our lives to those who are lost, either to judge them or to think ourselves somehow superior. (I can’t help but to think of Dana Carvey’s “Church Lady” character when I use that term….)

A~  My husband and I were in the car together the other day, after dropping a vehicle off with our mechanic.  As we passed through one of the busiest intersections in the city, there was a group holding a large banner which read: “Don’t believe in God?  Join the club.”  They called themselves United Coalition of Reason (for those who consider themselves to be atheist, agnostic, humanist, freethinker, or do not believe in God).  Seeing this display prompted my husband to begin praying for them as we drove and sparked a discussion between us not about the misguided and dangerous tactics they were using, but about how sorrowful we are for the souls of the chanting sign-carriers.  Clearly they are spiritually seeking, but perhaps due to some hurt or wound or disillusionment, they have rejected God and/or His Church and now stand in staunch opposition to all things Christian.  It made us truly sad to witness this display.  I think that’s what it means to see others as God sees them.

P~  Father, I know You are grieved as well for the hearts of those who are far from You.  I pray especially for those people holding their signs the other day.  I pray You would bring people alongside and circumstances to bear which might change their hearts and minds to be open to You and Your love.  What amazing testimonies in the making!

 

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 6, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

