July 3, 2017 1 Kings 10,11; 2 Chronicles 9; 1 Thessalonians 2:13-3:5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Holding fast | Nikki Metzger

S~ They were from nations about which the Lord had told the Israelites, “You must not intermarry with them, because they will surely turn your hearts after their gods.” Nevertheless, Solomon held fast to them in love. 1 Kings 11:2 (NIV)

O~ Solomon had 1,000 wives! And they were from nations that God had said not to intermarry with.

A~ Where in the world were Solomon’s spiritual advisors? Why did the priests not say, no, this is against God’s laws? Maybe they did, we just don’t have it recorded for us. It woudn’t have mattered anyway, Solomon held fast to the women in love. I’m sure he told himself it was OK to marry them because it was for an alliance with another country. He probably justified his disobedience 1000 ways.

I wonder if there is anything that I’m holding fast to like Solomon was with his women? The women turned out to be Solomon’s end to the kingdom. I don’t want to be holding something so tight that I can’t see my sin and how it’s affecting my relationship with my Father.

P~ Father, Solomon held fast to his wives. And over time Solomon did evil in Your eyes. That’s scary! At the end of my life, Lord, I’d like to be as close to You in every way possible that it is for a human on earth to be. I want my heart following You, like David’s, as I step into eternity. So Lord, please look at my life. Search every part. Is there anything I’m ‘holding fast’ to? Anything that may lead me away from You over time? I pray this in Jesus’ Name.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 3, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

