June 26, 2017 1 Kings 3; 2 Chronicles 1; Psalm 78; Colossians 1:1-14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Tell My Children | Kim Chipman

S~ He decreed statutes for Jacob and established the law in Israel, which he commanded our ancestors to teach their children, so the next generation would know them, even the children yet to be born, and they in turn would tell their children. Psalm 78:5-6 (NIV)

O~ It is important to tell my children about You and what You do in my life. I remember memorizing v1-8 of this chapter for Awana when we lived in Hawaii. It’s good to bring them to my mind again.

A~ There are times I know I shrink back or hesitate to speak to my kids about You as boldly as I should. They are teens and I get a lot of eye rolling and ignoring. That shouldn’t deter me from sharing. It’s important to tell my story – especially to my children. Life is messy and they need to know how You show up in the mess. I need to speak those messages. The world is already speaking to them very loudly.

P~ Thank You for this reminder today, it’s good to bring these verses to my mind again. You command us to teach our children. Help me to boldly speak of Your presence in my life. I pray my children would passionately follow You. I love You!

What to Pray for My Children | Deanna George

S~ For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives, so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, ‭Colossians‬ ‭1‬:‭9-11‬ (NIV)

O~ I had the privilege of being raised by Godly parents that pray for their children. I have felt those prayers on many occasions. My parents were faithful in their prayers. They followed Paul’s example.

A~ I pray for my boys, but the prayers are more generic though. This prayer that Paul prays is what to pray for. I want to take my praying to the next level. My boys need and deserve it! I want them covered in God’s love and presence like I have been my whole life.

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for this passage that I can improve my prayers for my children. My desire is to be a mom that not only prays for them when they are sick or struggling, but one that prays for their heart, soul, body, and mind. I desire for them to know you personally in such a deep consuming way that drives them to seek you for all aspects of their lives. I can’t make that happen, but I sure can pray for it. Thank you for this how to because this momma needed it spelled out today.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on June 26, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

