June 23, 2017 1 Chronicles 26,27; Philippians 2:12-30

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Capable and Strong | Tara Wiley

S~ They and their sons and their relatives were capable men with the strength to do the work. I Chronicles 26:8 (NIV)

O~ In this passage, men and their families were appointed for specific acts of service to God. I love this statement tucked in among the names. I love the promise it implies: When God gives us a task, He supplies us with the capability and strength to complete it.

A~ Our church is growing exponentially right now. We are at three services and have new people coming every week. We have grown by over 100 in less than a month. With only two full time staff members, the only way this works is for everyone to step up and get involved. My husband and I are on the leadership and worship ministry team. It’s a lot of commitment on top of our daily lives but they are the hours that bring us great joy. On Sunday mornings when I wake up to prepare for six hours of ministry, it’s easy to be overwhelmed before the day even begins. This is a great reminder: God is the supplier of ability and strength for me, for the pastors, for His work in this church and in this community. I just need to be available.

P~ Lord, YOU make us capable, with the strength to do the work set in front of us. Right now I pray for the staff and volunteers at The Pursuit, especially for the pastors who carry a great load of responsibility. Strengthen them today for their ministry. Make them capable beyond their own innate ability – capable to manage their time well, to be diligent in their walks with You, to find times of rest and nourishment during this intense season. Fill the attenders of this church with passion to get involved with what You’re doing and to serve well. Strengthen my family to love and serve well, including my children (may they grow to discover and use the gifts You’ve placed in them for Your glory!). Lord, may our daily acts of living and serving bring You glory as we trust You to make us capable and strong.

Everything?! Really!? | Kim Chipman

S~ Do everything without grumbling or arguing, Philippians 2:14 (NIV)

O~ EVERYTHING. That’s what stands out to me. Everything.

A~ Oh man, I need some help with this. I don’t think I grumble or argue out loud an awful lot, but I sure do in my head! And I’m pretty sure the way You want my heart that in my brain grumbling totally counts. Hmph.

P~ Lord, HELP! Purify my thoughts. Help me to take each thought captive and teach it to obey You. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on June 23, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

