Daily Archives: June 11, 2017

June 11, 2017 2 Samuel 10; 1 Chronicles 20; Psalm 20; Ephesians 1:15-2:10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Psalm 107:20-22 | Joni Tyner

For 2 weeks, I decided to work on memorizing Psalm 107 and yikes– There are 43 verses. Wow!!! I’ve never, ever tried to memorize this much scripture!!—so in an effort to be successful I decided to breakdown each days verse with a short SOAP note to help me really soak in what I am memorizing.   If anyone feels led to memorize this with me or give me some tips, I’d love to hear from you.   Here is today’s verse and journal note.   Joni

S~ He sent out His Word and healed them, and delivered them from their destruction.

Let them thank the Lord for His steadfast love,

For His wondrous work to the children of man!

And let them offer sacrifices of thanksgiving and tell of His deeds in the songs of joy! Psalm 107:20-22 (ESV)

O~ God  continues to reach out to the people who are broken and troubled. This scripture reminds me to have a heart of gratitude, to sing and tell others what He has done.

A~ I am grateful for the work God has done in my life.  I also see a sin issue that I sometimes start to feel like I am “owed” good things because of what I do.  This is NOT GOOD!!  I need to constantly work on my humility and bring my mind to a heart of gratitude for everything I have.

P~ Dear Lord, I’m so sorry I often feel entitled to a certain life.  Please instill a deep, deep abiding sense of joy and gratitude because of You.

God’s Great Power | Nikki Metzger

S~ I also pray that you will understand the incredible greatness of God’s power for us who believe Him.  This is the same mighty power that raised Christ from the dead and seated Him in the place of honor at God’s right hand in the heavenly realms. Ephesians 1:19,20 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to this church and letting them know some of the things he is praying over them.  He is also reminding them (we ALWAYS need to be reminded!) of God’s great power!

A~ I woke up today feeling defeated.  The kind of ick that can keep me down for a couple of days.  What am I doing?  This trying to live for God thing, is it working?  Why am I holding on so tightly to people and things that I have no control of?  Where does God want me?  What am I supposed to be doing for Him?

P~ God, please help me understand the incredible greatness of Your power that’s for me because I believe!  Give me intimate knowledge of that same power that raised Jesus from the dead and set Him down at Your right hand!  Thank You!  In Jesus’ Name I pray

I Need Grace! |Kim Chipman

S~ But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved. Ephesians 2:4-5 (NIV)

O~ v3 All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our flesh and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature deserving of wrath.

Romans 3:23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God

A~ The first time I read through the readings for today I found myself searching for something to write about. I found my mind more in academic mode than heart mode. I decided I needed to walk away and revisit the reading later. I don’t want to just write about something. I want You to speak into my heart and life so I’m transformed.

As I went about my day quite honestly my people were really frustrating me. Irritable, demanding, selfish, ungrateful…that’s what I was seeing in them. I wasn’t feeling like I knew how to process it so it was time to sit down with You again and here’s the reminder for me today…

We ALL have the Spirit vs flesh battle raging within us – I’m the queen! Me and my mess are saved by grace – just like everyone else. The fact that I was getting so bent by everyone else should be a HUGE warning sign that I also am being irritable, demanding, selfish, and ungrateful. We ALL need grace. Inasmuch as I’m sitting here somehow superior just because in this particular millisecond I’m not a raging lunatic does NOT mean that I have anything at all “together”.

As I think thoughts about all the things my people need to change I really need to be looking in the mirror. I need grace. We ALL need grace. We ALL mess it up.

Especially me.

P~ Lord, help me to remember my need for Your grace and help me to liberally extend it. Help me to keep my thoughts like Your thoughts would be towards people. Help me to honor You in ALL things. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

