June 10, 2017 2 Samuel 9; 1 Chronicles 19; Ephesians 1:1-14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Psalm 107:17-19 | Joni Tyner

For the next 2 weeks, I decided to work on memorizing Psalm 107 and yikes– There are 43 verses. Wow!!! I’ve never, ever tried to memorize this much scripture!!—so in an effort to be successful I decided to breakdown each days verse with a short SOAP note to help me really soak in what I am memorizing.   If anyone feels led to memorize this with me or give me some tips, I’d love to hear from you.   Here is today’s verse and journal note.   Joni

S~ Some were fools through their sinful ways, and because of their iniquities suffered affliction.

They loathed any kind of food, and they drew near to the gate of death.

Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble and He delivered them from their distress. Psalm 107:17-19  (ESV)

O~ The lord is reminding the psalmist (my Bible says anonymous) that the Lord is gracious and forgives fools who pull away from God and mess up their lives.  He will hear them in their distress—if they call out to the Lord.

A~ I’m seeing a theme in Psalm 107. The Lord is gracious and forgives us.  Our God is a loving father that welcomes us with open arms when life’s troubles suffocate us.  I am again reminded that we are saved by HIS grace, not by any type of good behavior.

While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.  Romans 5:8

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for choosing me. Please keep this thought in the front of my mind, I never want to take Your grace for granted.  Please forgive me for my lazy drifting, I love You!

Chosen, holy, blameless | Nikki Metzger

S~ For He chose us in Him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight. Ephesians 1:4 (NIV)

O~ This is saying that before the creation was made, He chose me.  And I’m holy and blames in His sight.

A~ This is a day; a week; probably more like a season, where I’m not feeling chosen, holy, or blameless.  Actually, I’m feeling like I’ve messed up a lot, and not in one area of my life, but many.

So my feelings are pointing me one way.

God’s Word is indicating opposite of what I’m feeling.

I have a choice here.  I can actively trust God that I am really chosen, holy, and blameless in His sight or I can keep trying to figure out my feelings.

P~ Father, You say that You chose me before the creation of the world.  You say I’m holy and blameless in Your sight.  You say it, so it’s true!  Thank You Lord for Your Word!!

Its free – Trisha Baker

S~ to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves Ephesians 1:6 (NIV)

O~ God sent Jesus to this earth to bring restoration to his children. He knew that because of the sin in the garden we were separated from his grace, so he sent Jesus to restore us to his grace. Jesus died on the cross and gave his life so that we could be completely restored back to God and live with his grace every day.

A~ Very often as I go about my day, I realize the different ways I have fallen short and have not been completely faithful to my Jesus. I say something or I do something, that if Jesus were standing in front me; these things would not make him happy. At first, I begin to beat myself up. I mean what is wrong with me, I know better. I teach my children not to do these things, and then there I am doing it myself. But then I have to think about what my reaction to my children would be. I would probably acknowledge what they did and that it was wrong. Then I would ask how they would handle the situation differently if it happened again, and then I would forgive them and assure them of my love. And if this is my reaction as a human parent, how much greater is the love and grace my Heavenly Father will give me when I screw up. I don’t have to work to get his grace, He has already freely given it to me. I have to always remember this!

P~ Father God, help me to remember how much you love me every day. Remind me Father that I don’t have to work to receive your grace, but rather only accept it. Thank you Father for all that you do in my life to help me to show your love and grace to others. In your precious name, Amen.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on June 10, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

