June 9, 2017 2 Samuel 8; 1 Chronicles 18; Galatians 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Impacting the Next Generation | Tara Wiley

S~ David brought the gold shields of Hadadezer’s officers to Jerusalem, along with a large amount of bronze from Hadadezer’s towns of Tebah and Cun. Later Solomon melted the bronze and molded it into the great bronze basin called the Sea, the pillars, and the various bronze articles used at the Temple. I Chronicles 18:7-8 NLT

O~ The fruit of David’s obedience to do what God called him to do – the plunder he gathered from overcoming Israel’s enemies – became the very materials Solomon used to fulfill God’s call on his life – to build the temple. What a picture of redemption! Something beautiful coming from something as terrible as war… An increasing level of glory to God coming to the next generation through the previous generation’s faithfulness.

I mean, think about it – David’s obedience in war led to a collection of materials, stored away in some room. Yet, it was his son who used those materials to create the very location that would become a monument to God’s glory, a place where millions would gather over millennia (for they still gather at the foundation of Solomon’s temple) to worship God (using the patterns of worship that Solomon’s father, David, set in place – patterns the church continues to use today). These little verses paint a vivid picture of how our acts of obedience can impact the future in multiplied ways that we cannot even begin to comprehend.

A~ This example in I Chronicles can serve as a serious motivating force for me. I am called to daily acts of obedience, maybe not as radical as David’s slaying and plundering of thousands, or of Solomon’s monumental temple. But my obedience can reap a harvest not only in my life but in my children’s lives in ways I cannot imagine. So today, when I am tempted to live a me-focused life rather than live an obedient life of self-sacrifice, or when fear drives me to procrastination, or when point-blank laziness keeps me in my seat, I will let this passage remind me of what Galatians says:

Those who live only to satisfy their own sinful nature will harvest decay and death from that sinful nature. But those who live to please the Spirit will harvest everlasting life from the Spirit. So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up. Therefore, whenever we have the opportunity, we should do good to everyone – especially to those in the family of faith. Galatians 6:8-10 NLT

P~ Lord, I want to be faithful to You in the here and now, faithful to Your calling in my life. I have no idea what the acts of obedience, large and small, in my life, may yield to my son and daughter in their lives, but I pray that it’s rich and abundant and far beyond all I could ever ask or imagine. I pray that their faithfulness and fruitfulness will make mine pale in comparison, and that they would lead so many to see Your glory — that the impact I might hope to make would seem tiny and insignificant in comparison to the way they make the world see You shine. Lord, let this word picture from I Chronicles be a motivating force when I am tempted to get lazy or weary – to not give up in doing good, for they will reap a harvest from my obedience.

Just Us | Kim Chipman

S~ Each one should test their own actions. Then they can take pride in themselves alone, without comparing themselves to someone else Galatians 6:4 (NIV)

O~ Romans 12:2 Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

A~ HOW do I test my own actions? Bu being transformed by the renewing of my mind.

HOW do I do that? I need to not only ready Your Word, but think about it and DO what it says.

This needs to be personal. Just about me. Not comparing my life to anyone else’s. You show me what needs to be changed or done and I need to obey – not justify my disobedience by comparing myself with others.

I’m good at that.

P~ Lord, help me to remain accountable to You. Just me and You. For Your glory!

Keep Moving Forward | Carrie Newell

S~ So don’t get tired of doing what is good.  Don’t get discouraged and give up, for we will reap a harvest of blessing at the appropriate time.  Galatians 6:9 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to the church of Galaltia- to encourage them in their faith.

A~ I love this encouragement from Paul.  He really ‘gets it’ doesn’t he?   Lately, God has been taking me on this journey.  He is reminding me through song, scripture and friends that he is not done with me yet.  He has also shown me some ways that I can help him heal me.  My health has been rocky for the past 2 years, but over the last 2 months, he has led me to try some new things, with amazing results.

It usually goes down like this: he prepares my heart through song or words (from the bible or some amazingly wise people in my life), then he moves.  He opens the door a little wider, or he instills in me a new passion to do something for him.  If I move forward, I see some awesome progress.  We are a pretty good team— when I participate.  See, as much as I KNOW that I need to do my part with exercise, prayer, and nutrition; I get weary.  I get tired of the dailyness of it all.  I want a break– after all, I’m working pretty hard– ha;)  But the beat goes on.  And God doesn’t leave me.  He just patiently waits for me to get my self put back together so we can move forward again, together.

P~ Lord, thank you for always being by my side, for showing me your restoring healing power.  Help me to be strong, to not get tired of doing the good things you’ve called me to.  And help me to encourage others to do the same!  Amen.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on June 9, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

