Daily Archives: June 8, 2017

June 8 2 Samuel 7; 1 Chronicles 17; Psalm 2; Galatians 5:13-26

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

In from the pasture | Kelley Deases

S~  “Now then, tell my servant David, ‘This is what the Lord Almighty says:  I took you from the pasture and from following the flock to be ruler over my people Israel.’”  2 Samuel 7:8 (NIV)

O~  The Lord was giving a word to the prophet Nathan to tell King David.  Therein, He was reminding David just how far He had elevated him — from a lowly shepherd to the ruler of God’s chosen people.

A~  God has elevated me, too, and shown me great favor.  He took me from a lowly, lonely place to a place of joy and peace.  A place where, I believe, He has purposed for me to be and where I can best reflect His love.  My “following the flock” was during my first marriage, where we were driven by status and making money, climbing the corporate ladder, and keeping up with the proverbial Jones’s.  The “pasture” in my life was represented by my years as a single parent. Scared and alone, wandering aimlessly at times.  But then God gave me a new position: wife and then stay-at-home mom.  My sphere of influence is helpmate to my husband, adviser to my teen, nurturer to my child, and counselor, encourager, and mentor to some wonderful ladies in my life.

P~  Thank You, Father, for plucking me out of that pasture and away from following the flock and placing me where You would have me.  I love it here!

God First! | Nikki Metzger

S~ Nathan replied to David, “Do whatever you have in mind, for God is with you.”  1 Chronicles 17:2 (NLT)

O~ David is king, his beautiful palace is finished, he has peace in  his kingdom.  When David looks out the window, he sees the tent where the ark is sitting.  One day David and the prophet Nathan are talking and David says that he is lives in a palace while the Ark is in a tent.  Nathan tells David to do whatever he wants.

I’m not sure if David talked with God before this conversation, I doubt it because God seems to be pretty vocal with David in past circumstances.  And Nathan doesn’t seem to pray by what the scripture tells us.  We do know that same night of this conversation, God tells Nathan to tell David to not build a  place for the Ark.

A~ I love David!  His words sit in my heart and I feel what he is saying.  Let’s face it, I’m blessed!  We too have a wonderful home, plenty of everything, really, I’m not in want of anything, just like David!

But if there is something I want, I usually go after it.  Just like David wanting to build God a nicer house.  But nobody prayed and asked God (who gave them everything) what He thought.

I do that too!  I get an idea in my head, get laser focused on it and just go after it.  Without praying or checking with God if this is His plan.  Thankfully, God shuts down some of my plans before they get started, just like He did with David.

P~ Father, please teach me to come to You first!  You are in control, not me!  Thank You for David too!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Psalm 107:13-16 | Joni Tyner

For the next 2 weeks, I decided to work on memorizing Psalm 107 and yikes– There are 43 verses. Wow!!! I’ve never, ever tried to memorize this much scripture!!—so in an effort to be successful I decided to breakdown each days verse with a short SOAP note to help me really soak in what I am memorizing.   If anyone feels led to memorize this with me or give me some tips, I’d love to hear from you.   Here is today’s verse and journal note.   Joni

S~ Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and he delivered them from their distress.

He brought them out of darkness and the shadow of death,

and burst their bonds apart.

Let them thank the Lord for his steadfast love, for his wondrous works to the children of man!

For he shatters the doors of bronze and cuts in two the bars of iron.

Psalm 107:13-16 (ESV)

O~ The Lord hears my cries when I pray to Him.

A~ I need to not get discouraged when my prayers appear unanswered. I need to continue to have a heart of gratitude for what He has done and what He WILL DO!!

P~ Dear Lord, I’m sorry I sometimes doubt You care about me. I know I’ve grumbled and complained when it feels like You prayers go unanswered. Thank you for this reminder today. Please give me a new, deeper sense of gratitude for all the blessings in my life. Thank you for bringing me out of the darkness.

Free to Humbly Serve | Kim Chipman

S~ You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh[a]; rather, serve one another humbly in love. Galatians 5:13 (NIV)

O~ Ephesians 4:2 Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.

Leviticus 19:18 Do not seek revenge or bear a grudge against anyone among your people, but love your neighbor as yourself. I am the Lord.

1 Peter 2:16 Live as free people, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil; live as God’s slaves.

A~ I always thought the Bible was super complicated. Until I read it on a regular basis for awhile. Now I realize the message is simple, just not easy.

This verse reminds me of that principle.

…you were called to be free…YAY!!

…but do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh…awww, shucks, that’s usually fun

…rather, serve one another humbly in love…seriously?! come ON. that’s HARD.

Simple to understand, not easy to do

P~ Lord, help me to serve my one anothers humbly in love. I can’t do this well without You…actually, apart from You I can do nothing. I need You. Help!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com