Daily Archives: June 7, 2017

June 7, 2017 1 Chronicles 16; Psalm 106; Galatians 5:1-12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Sing | Marisa Tomlinson

S~ Give praise to the Lord, proclaim his name; make known among the nations what he has done. Sing to him, sing praise to him; Tell of all his wonderful acts. Glory in his holy name; let the hearts of those who seek the Lord rejoice. 1 Chronicles 16:8-10 (NIV)

O~ The Ark of the Covenant had been brought to the City of David. David danced for you and appointed people to play music and sing in celebration before the Lord. He was so overjoyed that the Ark was in his city that he just had to celebrate.

A~ How often do we rejoice and sing to God just because He is with us? Music is a big part of who I am. I sing to the radio as I drive. I sing to the music played at work. I’ve even been known to sing along to the music played at the grocery store. God uses that love of music to speak to me: He’ll wake me up with a certain song or bring one to mind while I’m praying. He has taught me so many things through music. When I sing, I will focus on singing TO Him and not just to the music. My heart rejoices because He is with me and my focus will be on Him.

P~ Lord, thank you for music. Thank you for the ways you’ve gifted me. I pray that my voice is always used to bring You glory. Thank you for the reminders throughout my day that You are with me and for me. I will “make known among the nations” what You have done for me. My heart is open to Your song; may my ears be also. Amen

Psalm 107:10-12 | Joni Tyner

For the next 2 weeks, I decided to work on memorizing Psalm 107 and yikes– There are 43 verses. Wow!!! I’ve never, ever tried to memorize this much scripture!!—so in an effort to be successful I decided to breakdown each days verse with a short SOAP note to help me really soak in what I am memorizing. If anyone feels led to memorize this with me or give me some tips, I’d love to hear from you. Here is today’s verse and journal note. Joni

S~ Some sat in darkness and in the shadow of death, prisoners in affliction and in irons, for they had rebelled against the words of God, and spurned the counsel of the Most High. So he bowed their hearts down with hard labor; they fell down, with none to help.  Psalm 107:10-12 (ESV)

O~ This part of the Psalm shows the despair that occurs when we rebel against God.

A~ Confession. This memorizing stuff is getting really hard, really fast.  There is so much each day!  L  I’m glad that I am journaling so that I am thinking about each verse.  I don’t want to have a rebellious heart against God and be spurned by Him, that sounds so terrible!!  So, I’m just going to keep up on this challenge. Keep doing the worksheets and keep a humble heart.  I’m not good a memorizing scripture, but I don’t want to have a rebellious attitude and quit.  I’ll just do the best I can—each day.  I’m still learning more about Psalm 107 then if I had never tried and I think God can use what I learn for something in the future.   Sorry for the rambling thoughts…

P~ Dear Lord, please infuse some fresh “stick to it” energy into me today. I want to being held closely by You and have You as my constant guide.  Thank you for the having a sound mind to do this challenge, please give me ideas in how to memorize it.  Thank You for Your Word.

The Only Thing | Kim Chipman

S~ For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision has any value. The only thing that counts is faith expressing itself through love. Galatians 5:6 (NIV)

O~ Circumcision is an outward sign. An external thing. In Christ Jesus external stuff is not the goal. An internal heart change is the goal.

A~ “The only thing” gets my attention. In my life there are zillions of things vying for my attention and energy. Good things. But the ONLY thing that matters is faith expressing itself through love.

Am I doing that well? Am I loving well as a result of my faith? Or am I doing nice things when it’s convenient for me?

P~ Lord, help me to see when my heart place has gotten off track. Help me to do this faith expressing itself through love thing well. I can’t do it alone. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com