Daily Archives: June 5, 2017

June 5, 2017 2 Samuel 6; 1 Chronicles 13; Psalm 68; Galatians 3:23-4:7

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Daily burdens | Kelley Deases

S~ Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior, who daily bears our burdens. Psalm 68:19 (NIV)

O~ Daily.  As in every, single day.  Come what may.  We never know what a day has in store for us.  Perhaps it will be sunny and warm, your kid will tell you what an awesome parent you are, you will complete all those to-do’s on your list with time and energy to spare, you will share God’s love with someone who will receive it readily, and your husband will bring you flowers just because he wanted to express his love. (So that last thing actually happened today– awwww! The rest of the list did not.).  Or you could find out you have cancer.  Or your teen had a car accident.  Or your best friend is getting divorced.  Or your husband lost his job. We just don’t know.

A~ In my twenties, I thought I had my life all mapped out.  But my plans didn’t go at all as planned.  When my husband left, so did my “happily ever after” … or so I thought.  But as I began to cling to God in my desperation, He began to show me He would shoulder those burdens for me daily.  All these years later, I continue to take comfort in the knowledge that whatever today or tomorrow may bring, He is with me and will take those burdens I won’t be able to bear alone.

P~ Father, Thank you that You promise to bear my burdens daily. However uncertain my future may be, you already know the course my life will take and are fully big enough to carry those loads I cannot.

Psalm 107:7-9 | Joni Tyner

For the next 2 weeks, I decided to work on memorizing Psalm 107 and yikes– There are 43 verses. Wow!!! I’ve never, ever tried to memorize this much scripture!!—so in an effort to be successful I decided to breakdown each days verse with a short SOAP note to help me really soak in what I am memorizing.   If anyone feels led to memorize this with me or give me some tips, I’d love to hear from you.   Here is today’s verse and journal note.   Joni

S~ He led them by a straight way

Till they reached a city to dwell in.

Let them thank the LORD for his steadfast love,

For his wondrous work to the children of man!

For He satisfied the longing soul,

And the hungry soul He fills with good things.  Psalm 107:7-9 (ESV)

O~ If I allow God to lead me,  I will have satisfaction and my soul will be filled with things that give me joy, peace, patience. I will be loved and content.

A~ I need to be available and then submit myself to God’s leading. This happens when I have margin in my day and just sit down and be with Him!!

P~ Thank you for pursuing me when I wander.  I know You desire to bless me with good things, please help me stay disciplined and focused on  You.  I love You.

Unity | Kim Chipman

S~ There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. Galatians 3:28 (NIV)

O~ All believers are one in Christ

1 Corinthians 1:10 I appeal to you, brothers and sisters, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another in what you say and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be perfectly united in mind and thought.

1 Corinthians 12:25  so that there should be no division in the body, but that its parts should have equal concern for each other.

A~ Sometimes I sense an almost competitive undertone among believers. Like one church or pastor or denomination is somehow superior. I get that we all love our church body or we wouldn’t choose to be in community there, but there are lots of great churches, there’s no need to put any one down. That’s craziness – and unbiblical. All believers are one in Christ. We should be unified in our effort to show the world how beautiful our community is, to make a relationship with Jesus appealing. No one wants to hang out with judgmental, critical people. If we really want to draw people to You then we need to get it together and humble ourselves, believe the best of one another, and encourage each other.

P~ Lord, help me to be the change in how I see the body of Christ. Help me to see all people through Your eyes. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

