June 4, 2017 2 Samuel 4,5; Psalm 139; Galatians 3:1-22

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Psalm 107:4-6 | Joni Tyner

For the next 2 weeks, I decided to work on memorizing Psalm 107 and yikes– There are 43 verses. Wow!!! I’ve never, ever tried to memorize this much scripture!!—so in an effort to be successful I decided to breakdown each days verse with a short SOAP note to help me really soak in what I am memorizing.   If anyone feels led to memorize this with me or give me some tips, I’d love to hear from you.   Here is today’s verse and journal note.   Joni

S~ Some wandered in the desert wastes, finding no way to a city to dwell in;

Hungry and thirsty,

Their soul fainted within them.

Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble,

And He delivered them from their distress.  Psalm 107:4-6  (ESV)

O/A~ I see myself occasioning wandering around in the desert “wastes”—I think I can put God in a box and just be there when I need Him.   When I do this, I get tired and discouraged and overwhelmed with the life’s stuff.  I am so thankful He is always available when I call out to Him. He delivers me from worry and my soul finds rest when I spend time in His Word.

P~ Dear Lord, I’m sorry I so frequently wander and drift away from You.  I don’t want to—but my flesh seems to have such a pull on emotions.  Thank you for being a solid rock to me.  Please help me with my time management so I can meet with you first and then get to work with the my day.

He Knows ME | Marisa Tomlinson

S~ Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. Psalms 139:23-24 (NIV)

O~ David is looking to God for deliverance from his enemies. He knows that in order to be in God’s favor he must repent from sin. He’s asking God to show him where he needs to change.

A~ If I could just remember to pray this daily, I’m certain my life would improve. I know where I fall short most days. I’m striving to live in His will, but if I’m honest, I don’t seek Him often enough. How can I follow Him if I don’t know His voice? I get focused on daily tasks… go here…be there… wash this… cheer for this kid…watch “one more trick”…that I tune out everything else. God knows my anxious heart. He knows my worrywart ways. he watches me spin.  I love Jesus. I want to hear Him. I NEED to feel the peace that only comes from Him.

Breathe.

Pray.

Listen.

Obey.

P~ Lord, forgive me for not tuning in to You. Forgive me for getting so self-focused that I lean on my own false power instead of Yours. Thank you for blessing me with an abundant life. I have so many things to be thankful of! I’m awestruck thinking about it.

Search me God, know my heart. Test me and know my anxious thoughts and fears.

See if there is anything that I need to confess and repent of and show me Your ways.

I want to be a woman who radiates YOUR love and kindness. Make my life a reflection of You. Help me surrender all to YOU, daily. thank you, thank you, thank you for Grace. Every time I fail I know that You are there to pick me up, give me a hug, and set me back on my feet. Thank you for leading me. Amen

Shopping can bring us closer to Jesus | Nikki Metzger

S~ See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. Psalm 139:24 (NIV)

O~ I love this psalm!

A~ Last night was a recipe for disaster.  I was exhausted from a 10 hour, emotionally draining day.  I watched my son play baseball.  And then at 9pm at night, I went shopping (for a swim suit, with my teenage daughter).  The swim suit part wasn’t even the bad part, it just took forever to find one that she liked.  And then I made a bad decision for picking the check out line.  We ended up there for 20 minutes. So perfect storm of emotions, exhaustion, frustration blew up in my car.  Words were said by both me and my daughter and I ended up having the last word (bad idea) and I took the swim suit from her because she was acting so ungrateful.  Laying in bed praying the last two verses of this psalm was so humbling.

P~ Father, twelve hours later, I’m laughing at the whole scene from last night, were You laughing last night?  It’s crazy how my feelings, hunger level, exhaustion level, circumstances can quickly change my perception of things.  Thank You for lovingly pointing out the offensive ways in me and leading me back in the way everlasting.  You are so good!  I love You!  Thank You for Jesus and for David and revealing how precious we are to You in this psalm!

Are you feeling exhausted? | Trisha Baker

S~ Are you so foolish? After beginning by means of the Spirit, are you now trying to finish by means of the flesh? Galatians 3: 3 (NIV)

O~ When we first came to know Jesus, we were told that we only had to ask and believe and He would give us the free gift of salvation. We received this free gift because of the great love and mercy of our Lord Jesus. We have to be mindful to remember that our closeness to God does not happen by what we do. If there was something we could do to get close to God, then Jesus would not have had to die on the cross.

A~ It can be exhausting physically and mentally to attempt to maintain our salvation. So isn’t it wonderful to know that we don’t have to work to maintain our salvation at all. We have to remember, that our salvation was a free gift, and because it is a free gift we don’t have to work at all to keep it. We have to only remember that our Lord Jesus who, because He loved us so much died on the cross, is always ready and waiting for us to come to Him and allow him to do a good work in us. There is not one good thing in any of us; any good in us is only because of Him.  So when we find ourselves exhausted because we feel like we are chasing our tail trying to do the right thing, maybe we need to take a moment and ask God what we need to be doing. Anytime we try to do it will be exhausting, but when we allow God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit to work; it will never feel like work. His burden is light, and He will always carry us through to the finish line.

P~ Thank you Father for being the source of our salvation and all that is good in our lives. Help us to remember to always give your glory and to always look to You for our source of joy in life. Thank you Father for all You have done in our lives, all You are doing right now, and all You will do in the future.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Leave a comment