Daily Archives: June 2, 2017

June 2, 2017 2 Samuel 2; 1 Chronicles 11; Psalm 142; Galatians 1:11-24

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

With ME | Kim Chipman

S~ And David became more and more powerful, because the Lord Almighty was with him. 1 Chronicles 11:9 (NIV)

O~ King Saul has died and David was anointed King over Israel. Once King he conquered cities that Saul had lost.

A~ Of all the reasons for David’s success it strikes me the simplicity – because the Lord Almighty was WITH HIM.

I have access to have you WITH ME, too! I don’t feel called to conquer anything with military force, but I could use some help with: guilt, shame, selfishness, pride, impatience, etc, etc. I can have power to fdefeat these things in my life because You are WITH ME and I can do ALL THINGS through Christ who strengthens me! ALL. THINGS.

P~ Lord, I love You! Help me to become powerful against sin for Your glory!

Psalm 107:1 | Joni Tyner

For the next 2 weeks, I decided to work on memorizing Psalm 107 and yikes– There are 43 verses. Wow!!! I’ve never, ever tried to memorize this much scripture!!—so in an effort to be successful I decided to breakdown each days verse with a short SOAP note to help me really soak in what I am memorizing.   If anyone feels led to memorize this with me or give me some tips, I’d love to hear from you.   Here is today’s verse and journal note.   Joni

S~ Oh give thanks to the LORD for He is good- His steadfast love endures forever.  Psalm 107:1 (ESV)

O/A~     1. I need to give thanks in everything!- this includes stuff I don’t like or understand.

2.God is ALWAYS good—it is who He is- His character can never change. ( I need to remember this when circumstances or the enemy tries to confuse me)

3. God’s love is steady. It is NOT based on my performance—His will endure through all of my doubts, mess ups and wandering in the pull of the world.

4. Forever is a loooooooong time.   God is going to outlast and out love any current hardship.  (praise Jesus for that!!)

P~ Help me give thanks to You for all things. Thank you for being faithful and steadfast when I wander and doubt You.   Dear Lord, I love Your Word, please give me a heart that wants to love memorizing it!  I need Your help—please give me a desire to finish this and do it well.

It is Going To Happen | Jill Terry

S~ but only, they kept hearing, “He who once persecuted us is now preaching the faith which he once tried to destroy.” And they were glorifying God because of me. Galatians 1 :23-24 (NAS)

O~ This is a letter Paul is writing to the churches regarding his ministry. He is reporting that people were becoming followers of Jesus because of his witnessing to them. These same people had heard of Paul’s persecution of Christians and were shocked and surprised to find his was not only a believer but also preaching the salvation message of Jesus Christ.

A~ I know without a shadow of a doubt that my oldest son was called to be a preacher when he was a young teenager. He has turned his back on his faith and the call he received. He is living a lifestyle that does not line up with a believer. I know that one day he will turn his life around and many people will hear the message of Jesus from him. I know that there will be people who will say that he is unworthy to preach because of his life choices. Just as people said that about Paul. But, imagine with me for a moment the people he will be able to reach because he did not take a linear life path. I know that one day it is going to happen.

P~ Thank you Jesus for giving me the faith to know that one day my son will believe and spread Your message as he has been called to do. Thank you for loving him regardless of the life he is now leading. Only You can change him Lord. Amen

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com