Daily Archives: June 1, 2017

June 1, 2017 2 Samuel 1; Psalm 140; Galatians 1:1-10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Following David | Nikki Metzger

S~ David and his men tore their clothes in sorrow when they heard the news. 2 Samuel 1:11 (NLT)

O~ The news that David and his men heard was that King Saul and his sons had died.  That monarchy was over, and it was now time for David to be king.  But David and his men tore their clothes in sorrow.  The tearing of clothes represents BIG emotion; grief, anger, frustration, sorrow.

A~ I would have thought that David’s men would have been thrilled that David was going to be king soon.  Months, maybe years earlier, David’s men were trying to get David to kill Saul so David could be king.  But the men tore their clothes in sorrow over the death of King Saul.  Something happened to David’s men over this time.

Did David’s men just love David as their leader that they followed what he did and tore their clothes as well?  Did David share with his men about his God and so they realized that God’s first anointed king was dead?  Did David’s men fall in love with David’s God as well?

I see David as an example of an amazing leader during this time in his life, one who leads completely dependent on God.  It’s a character trait that I’d like to be  a part of me.  I may not lead an army, but I lead two littles that need Christ.  I have an authority position over vulnerable women.  I am recognized at work as someone who has faith.

P~ God, I desire to lead well in my sphere.  Search my heart and see if there is any offensive way in me.  Bring that out of me and replace with Your truth.  Work in me leadership knitted by You.  That it would bring glory to You.   My heart after Your own heart.

A God Pleaser | Kelley Deases

S~ Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God?  Or am I trying to please men?  If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.  Galatians 1:10 (NIV)

O~  How the people of his day could accuse the apostle Paul of trying to be a “people pleaser” is beyond me!  He took countless risks as he faithfully preached the message of the gospel .  He suffered prison and beatings and ridicule for his courageous and sometimes unpopular faith, but always remained true to God’s calling even still .

A~  On the other hand, there’s me.  It was not too many years ago that I would grumble to see husband sitting down reading for the Bible for long spells at a time, while I was scurrying around the house getting things done.  (Gee, why is a certain story involving Mary and Martha coming to mind?!)  Not that a clean house and a nice meal are not important, but usually my best scurrying is reserved for those times company is coming over that day.  So I would spend the day being far more concerned with cleaning to impress people with our put-together home decor than to please God by sitting at His feet and allowing Him to speak into my life.

P~ Father, Help me have a heart like Paul’s, that wants to please You more than it wants to please other people. Help me to realize that if I spend that time with You each day, I can be a far greater blessing to others than simply a hostess with an immaculate house and tasty snacks; I can offer a word of encouragement, a promise from His Word, or be more sensitive to a need God helped me be aware of.

What is the honest answer? | Deanna George

S~ Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ. Galatians 1:10 (NIV)

O~ Simple question at first glance, but if I seriously look at it, it cuts straight to the heart. It gets to the nuts and bolts of my relationship with God. What is the honest answer?

A~ Oh how I want it to be God that I am pleasing all the time. The honest answer – sometimes/many times – it’s my family. I have my responsibilities, but too many “little” things get in the way of seeking God daily to find out his plans for me. I allow their schedule, their desires, and their hopes dictate my minute to minute life. Am I pleasing God or my family? I know that I can strive to please God and serve my family. It just involves my priorities, decision making, and cultivating a burning desire to do God’s will. No one said it would be easy for a “people pleaser” like me, but I know it is worth it when I am a “God pleaser.”

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for pointing this out today. When you gave me the go-ahead to start this new career, I made a commitment to you that I would keep you in the forefront of my mind and heart. You have been there, but the one-on-one meeting have been shirt and sweet. Today, I had the opportunity to postpone my sweet time with you, and I said no. I flat out said, ‘I made a commitment, and I’m going to keep it.” I started to feel bad, but I knew my time with you will be the foundation of my entire day. And what does that look like- you met me exactly where I was at. Through this scripture, I am encouraged and excited because today my honest answer is You God. It’s the encouragement to keep choosing you. It’s going to be a great day because you are a part of it from the beginning. Thanks for the motivation and encouragement!!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com