May 30, 2017 1 Samuel 28,29; Psalm 109; 2 Corinthians 12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Discover One Thing Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Cussing | Nikki Metzger

S~ He wore cursing as his garment; it entered into his body like water, into his bones like oil. Psalm 109:18 (NIV)

O~ How timely this psalm!  The cursing this man is using comes back to the one who says it.  It’s tied to the curser forever.

A~ The last two days there has been much talk of curse words at home.  I read a text thread on a child’s phone and a friend used a lot of curse words.  My kids are so different: one didn’t care about the curse words, the other defended the curser and shared that it was just words and didn’t mean anything.

The truth is here though, in God’s Word!  Cursing becomes us – it enters our body and covers our bones.  Jesus says in Matthew 15:18 that the things that come out of the mouth come from the heart.  So, by a person’s words, you get a glimpse of their heart.

P~ Father, thank You for this truth!  Give me wisdom in revealing Truth to my kids when the time is right today.  Prepare their hearts to hear that words matter.  I love You!!

Strengthen Your Power Through My Weakness | Deanna George

S~ But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christʼs power may rest on me. 2 Corinthians‬ ‭12‬:‭9‬ (NIV)

O~ God’s power is revealed in my moments of weakness.

A~ Not only is it okay to be weak, it is when God refines me. The process can and will hurt my ego, but having the hand of God providing the strength and power to overcome it is worth it because he is glorified, and I have the opportunity to deepen my relationship and trust in him. I also get a new improved mind and heart because God helped me endure my weakness. I grow more confident every time I allow God to be my strength and power when I just don’t have what it is needed for the situation. My action usually involves being obedient to his direction. I love and appreciate that he is willing to be my source of strength.

P~ Lord Jesus, thank you for being my source of strength. I do not have all the answers. I do not have the strength to face trials head on. You know I prefer to crawl into a ball and cry the time away. Thank you for knowing that and pushing me out of my comfort zone. Knowing you are there makes it possible for you to use me because I know I can’t do it on my own. It can only be your strength and power for me to succeed. Please continue to push me because I love the end result: you are glorified! Please ignore my grumbling when I am in the thick of my weaknesses. Please remember that I will be thankful for you choosing to refine me when it’s over. I will try to remember to be thankful during it, but I can’t make any promises. Thank you for your grace! Make your power perfect through my weaknesses.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on May 30, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

